Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: R

RACO : Revistes Catalanes amb Accés ObertAnyone can use
Also Known as: RACO; Catalan Journals in Open Access

RACO : Revistes Catalanes amb Accés Obert [more]



Reader’s Guide Retrospective 1890-1982Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982Readers Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. [more]



RECOLECTA (Recolector de ciencia abierta)Anyone can use
RECOLECTA (Recolector de ciencia abierta) [more]



Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y El CaribeAnyone can use
Also Known as: Redalyc

Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y El Caribe [more]



RedBooks.comRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
RedBooks.comAdvertising RedBooks.com provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on agencies and advertisers. Includes detailed profiles of over 10,000 US and international advertising agencies as well as information and adspend on nearly 15,000 US and international advertisers, 200,000 personnel and 100,00 brands. [more]



Regional Business NewsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Regional Business NewsRegional Business News provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications. It incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. [more]



REHABDATAAnyone can use
REHABDATALiterature on physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center. [more]



Religious Studies DatabasesAnyone can use
Religious Studies Databases [more]



REMM – Radiation Emergency Medical ManagementAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
Also Known as: Radiation Event Medical Management

REMM - Radiation Emergency Medical ManagementThis NIH database assists health care professionals with easy to follow algorithms for diagnosis and management of radiation contamination and exposure. The site provides just-in-time, evidence-based, usable information for those without formal radiation medicine expertise. [more]



Renaissance Literature DatabasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: Literature, Renaissance

Renaissance Literature Databases [more]



Research GuidesAnyone can use
Research GuidesA research guide is a quick way to obtain authoritative and reliable information about a chosen topic. The MU Libraries feature general subject guides as well as course guides which are created at the request of faculty. Our guides are composed of core databases, selected books available from the MU Libraries, and links to relevant websites. [more]



Restoration and 18th Century Literature DatabasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: Literature, Restoration and 18th Century

Restoration and 18th Century Literature Databases [more]



Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



revues.orgAnyone can use
revues.org [more]



RILMRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
RILMRILM, published by Repertoire International de Literature Musicale, indexes articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, film, and videos. [more]



Romantic Age, TheCD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
Romantic Age, TheThe Romantic Age includes 18 volumes of correspondence of significant British writers of the romantic era, such as Blake, Burns, Shelley, Maria Edgeworth, Jane Austen, Samuel Wesley. This CD-ROM is available at the Ellis Library Reference Workstation, in the SW corner of the Information Commons. [more]



Royal Society of Chemistry JournalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Royal Society of Chemistry JournalsRoyal Society of Chemistry Journals provides full-text coverage (including archives) of many of the Royal Society of Chemistry journals. [more]



RTECS – Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical SubstancesAnyone can use
RTECS - Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical SubstancesToxic effects data on some 140,000 chemicals. Retrieve data on skin/eye irritation, carcinogenicity, mutagenicity and reproductive consequences on over 140,000 chemicals. From the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). Formerly available free as part of TOXNET, this file is now only available via fee-based, expert search [more]



Russian Language and Literature DatabasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: Language and Literature, Russian

Russian Language and Literature Databases [more]



RxNormAnyone can use
RxNormSearch for drugs and herbals to discover brand names, synonyms, ingredients National Drug Codes (NDCs) and dosage forms. A spell checker is included. [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: ABSEES

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) - TrialABSEES provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. It indexes books, dissertations, journals, select government publications and online resources covering anthropology, culture, economics, education and geography. Trial ends December 15, 2014. [more]



Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: henry stewart talks

Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks - TrialThis collection provides access to over 1,500 online seminar style talks containing the latest research developments as well as the fundamentals presented by leading world experts, including Nobel Laureates. Trial ends December 31, 2014. [more]



British PeriodicalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
British PeriodicalsFor a limited time, content from Collection III has been added to our existing British Periodicals database for review. Facsimile page images and searchable full text have been added for Britannia and Eve (1929-1957), Bystander (1903-1940), The Graphic (1869-1932), The Illustrated Sporting and Dramatic News (1874-1970), The Illustrated War News (WWII edition – 1939), The Sketch (1893-1959), The Sphere (1900-1964) and the Tatler (1901-1967). We would appreciate your feedback on the value of this added content by clicking on the link above. Collection III content will be accessible until December 31, 2014. [more]



Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources