Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: P

PAISRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
PAISPAIS covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues. [more]



Palliative medicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Palliative medicine [more]



Palmer’s Index to the TimesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Palmers Index to the TimesThis index covers the London Times newspaper from 1790-1905. Part of C19 database. The MU Libraries has the London Times on microfilm in the Special Collections department. [more]



PAN Pesticides DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
PAN Pesticides DatabaseSearch by active ingredient, (including CAS Registry Numbers) product name, or product category to discover uses, toxicity, and regulatory status of pesticides. From the Pesticides Action Network of North America. [more]



PapersFirstRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
PapersFirstPapersFirst contains citations to papers presented at congresses worldwide. [more]



Parks, Recreation, & TourismAnyone can use
Parks, Recreation, & Tourism [more]



Pathology: the big pictureRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Pathology: the big picture [more]



Pathophysiology of Blood DisordersRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Pathophysiology of Blood DisordersA concise full color review of the mechanisms of blood diseases and disorders based on a Harvard Medical School hematology course. Hematological Pathophysiology is a well illustrated, easy to absorb introduction to the physiological principles underlying the regulation and function of blood cells and hemostasis, as well as the pathophysiologic mechanisms responsible for the development of blood disorders. Featuring a strong emphasis on key principles, the book covers diagnosis and management primarily within a framework of pathogenesis. Authored by world renowned clinician educators at Harvard Medical School, Hematological Pathophysiology features content and organization based on a hematology course offered to second year students at that schoo.l The book is logically divided into four sections: Anemias and Disorders of the Red Blood Cell; Disorders of Hemostasis and Thrombosis; Disorders of Leukocytes; and Transfusion Medicine. [more]



Patient Education Materials DatabaseAnyone can use
Also Known as: PEIMM ; patient education index

Patient Education Materials DatabaseThe site is intended for use by physicians and patients of University of Missouri Health Care as a source of patient education materials and information resources. [more]



Patient History: an Evidence-Based Approach to Differential DiagnosisRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis

Patient History: an Evidence-Based Approach to Differential DiagnosisFor medical students and other health professions students, an accurate differential diagnosis starts with The Patient History. The ideal companion to major textbooks on the physical examination, this trusted guide is widely acclaimed for its skill-building, and evidence based approach to the medical history. Now in full color, The Patient History defines best practices for the patient interview, explaining how to effectively elicit information from the patient in order to generate an accurate differential diagnosis. The second edition features all-new chapters, case scenarios, and a wealth of diagnostic algorithms. Introductory chapters articulate the fundamental principles of medical interviewing. The book employs a rigorous evidenced-based approach, reviewing and highlighting relevant citations from the literature throughout each chapter. [more]



PDQ Clinical Trial Search FormAnyone can use
PDQ Clinical Trial Search FormProvides a search of the web site for cancer clinical trials by diagnosis, phase, trial type, sponsorship, modality, drug and facility location. [more]



PDR: Physician’s Desk ReferenceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Physician’s Desk Reference

PDR: Physicians Desk ReferencePDR is available through Micromedex2. To search: enter drug name followed by PDR in the main search box in Micromedex. [more]



PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence DatabaseClinical trials and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of physical therapy interventions published in peer reviewed journals. All items are scored on methodological quality, and search results are ranked by methodological score. From the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney. [more]



Performance Improvement Initiative Inventory (PI-3)Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
Also Known as: PI-3, PI3

Performance Improvement Initiative Inventory (PI-3)PI-3 is a database for long-term storage and sharing detailed information about specific UMHS improvement projects. The site allows users to enter project data, create reports and posters, and search existing projects for ideas and best practices. [more]



Periodicals Index OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Periodicals Index OnlineFormerly known as Periodical Contents Index, Periodicals Index Online covers magazines and journals published worldwide from 1790 to 1919. Part of C19 database. [more]



Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook (7th ed)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Perrys Chemical Engineers Handbook (7th ed)Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook (7th ed) is a user’s guide and databook which examines every aspect – science, technology, engineering, properties, design, processing, and applications – of the continuing development and use of polypropylene. [more]



PERSEEAnyone can use
PERSEE [more]



Pfenninger and Fowler’s Procedures for Primary CareRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Procedures for Primary Care; Pfenninger’s Procedures for Primary Care

Pfenninger and Fowlers Procedures for Primary Care [more]



Pharmacology and Physiology for AnesthesiaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia [more]



Pharmacology and Therapeutics: Principles to PracticeRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Pharmacology and Therapeutics: Principles to Practice [more]



Pharmacology DatabasesAnyone can use
Pharmacology Databases [more]



Pharmacology, 4th ed. (Brenner)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Brenner’s Pharmacology

Pharmacology, 4th ed. (Brenner) [more]



PharmacyChecker.comAnyone can use
PharmacyChecker.comCompare unit and total (including shipping) costs for drugs in the United States and Canada from pharmacies that sell online, via mail order or fax. [more]



PhilobiblonAnyone can use
PhilobiblonPhilobiblon is a portion of a union catalog of primary medieval materials in Romance languages of the Iberian peninsula and related secondary materials. Full database only accessible on CD-ROM within Ellis Library. [more]



Philosopher’s IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Philosophers IndexThis database is an index to articles on philosophy and related fields from 1940 to the present. [more]



Philosophy DatabasesAnyone can use
Philosophy Databases [more]



Physical Education DatabasesAnyone can use
Physical Education Databases [more]



Physical Education IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Physical Education IndexPhysical Education Index includes physical education, sports, dance, recreation, health education, physical therapy, and related subject areas. Coverage includes peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. [more]



Physical Therapy DatabasesAnyone can use
Physical Therapy Databases [more]



Physics DatabasesAnyone can use
Physics Databases [more]



Physiology of the Gastrointestinal TractRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Physiology of the Gastrointestinal Tract [more]



Physiology, 5th ed. (Constanzo)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Costanzo’s Physiology; Physiology

Physiology, 5th ed. (Constanzo) [more]



PILOTS – Published International Literature on Traumatic StressAnyone can use
PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic StressIndexes world literature on traumatic stress disorder. Although it’s created/maintained by the US Department of Veterans Affairs, it covers all types of traumatic stress, not just post-combat stress syndromes. [more]



Plant Management NetworkAnyone can use
Plant Management NetworkPlant Management Network provides access to fact sheets, newsletters, product listings, training resources and related information. [more]



Plant Sciences DatabasesAnyone can use
Plant Sciences Databases [more]



Plants Toxic to AnimalsAnyone can use
Plants Toxic to AnimalsInformation on identifying common plants toxic to animals. Search plants by common or scientific names. Produced by University of Illinois. [more]



PMC – PubMed CentralAnyone can use
Also Known as: pub med central ; pmc ; pubmedcentral

PMC - PubMed CentralThe National Library of Medicine’s digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, providing free access to the full text of articles. Includes a growing number of final, peer-reviewed author manuscripts by scientists who receive research funding from NIH and other funding agencies, in addition to articles from journals that deposit their content in the archive. Frequently confused with PubMed, a much larger database of close to 20 million journal article citations (some of which have full text links). [more]



POISINDEXAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
POISINDEXThe POISINDEX System identifies ingredients for over 1 million household, cosmetic, commercial, harmaceutical and biological products and chemicals. Each substance is linked to one or more management documents providing informationon clinical effects, range of toxicity and treatment protocals for exposures involving the substances. Only accessible at University of Missouri Health Care facilities. [more]



Poisoning and Drug OverdoseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Poisoning and Drug Overdose [more]



Poisonous Plants Informational DatabaseAnyone can use
Poisonous Plants Informational DatabaseBotany, chemistry, toxicology, diagnosis, and prevention of poisoning of animals by plants and other natural flora. Includes plant images and images of affected animals. From Cornell University. [more]



Political Science DatabasesAnyone can use
Political Science Databases [more]



Poole’s Index to Periodical LiteratureRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Pooles Index to Periodical LiteraturePoole’s Index to Periodical Literature indexes British and American periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of the C19 databases. No full-text. [more]



Population IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Population IndexProvides a searchable index to the entire Population Index database for 1986-2000 (Volumes 52-66), plus annual Geographic Indexes. This bibliography is designed to cover the world’s demographic and population literature. [more]



PORTAL: The British Academy’s Online Directory of Research Resources in the Humanities and Social SciencesAnyone can use
PORTAL: The British Academys Online Directory of Research Resources in the Humanities and Social SciencesPORTAL covers the whole spectrum of the humanities and social sciences from the history of art to geographical information systems, and from labor history to the indigenous languages of Latin America. [more]



Portuguese Language and Literature DatabasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: Language and Literature, Portuguese

Portuguese Language and Literature Databases [more]



Practice Guidelines: American Association for the Study of Liver DiseasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: aasld guidelines ; liver guidelines

Practice Guidelines: American Association for the Study of Liver DiseasesRecommended for PBL Block 7. [more]



Practice Guidelines: American College of GastroenterologyAnyone can use
Also Known as: ACG guidelines

Practice Guidelines: American College of GastroenterologyRecommended for PBL Block 7 [more]



Practice Guidelines: American Gastroenterological AssociationAnyone can use
Also Known as: AGA guidelines

Practice Guidelines: American Gastroenterological AssociationRecommended for PBL Block 7 [more]



Practice of GeriatricsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Practice of Geriatrics [more]



PreMEDLINERestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations

PreMEDLINEPreMEDLINE provides basic citation information of articles currently being indexed for MEDLINE. [more]



PressDisplayRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
PressDisplayPressDisplay provides the original format, layout and pagination for over 200 newspapers from over 50 countries. [more]



Primary SearchRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Primary SearchPrimary Search provides searchable full-text of nearly 70 of the most popular K-12 magazines. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



PrimateLitAnyone can use
PrimateLitSearch for information on nonhuman primates in journal articles, books, meeting abstracts, technical reports, dissertations and book chapters. Covers a variety of subject areas, including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography. Part of the University of Wisconsin’s Primate Info Net (PIN). [more]



Primer of Diagnostic ImagingRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Diagnostic Imaging

Primer of Diagnostic Imaging [more]



Principles and Practice of Hospital MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine [more]



Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious DiseasesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious Diseases [more]



Principles of Medical BiochemistryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Biochemistry

Principles of Medical Biochemistry [more]



Problem-Based PhysiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Physiology

Problem-Based Physiology [more]



ProceedingsFirstRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProceedingsFirstProceedingsFirst is an index of worldwide conference proceedings, as well as a list of papers presented at various meetings. [more]



Professional Development CollectionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Professional Development CollectionDesigned for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



Project MuseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Project MuseProject Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]



ProQuest CongressionalRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Lexis Nexis Congressional

ProQuest CongressionalProQuest Congressional indexes congressional publications from 1789 to date and provides full text for much of it. This database also includes biographical, financial and voting information on current members of Congress. [more]



ProQuest Historical NewspapersRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProQuest Historical NewspapersSearchable full-image of the New York Times (1851-2010), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), The Washington Post (1877-1997), The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) and The Chicago Tribune (1849-1990). [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago DefenderRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago DefenderThe Chicago Defender (1910-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago TribuneRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago TribuneSearchable cover-to-cover full image of the Chicago Tribune from 1849-1990. [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York TimesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: New York Times;historical New York Times; NYT

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York TimesProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2008) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper. [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street JournalRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: WSJ

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street JournalSearchable cover-to-cover full image of the Wall Street Journal from 1889-1996. [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington PostRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington PostSearchable cover-to-cover full image of the Washington Post from 1877-1997. [more]



ProQuest Legislative InsightRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProQuest Legislative InsightA legislative history reveals the intent behind a specific law. Legislative histories are helpful to students preparing for careers in public health, education, business, or any other discipline subject to Federal regulation. This database provides searchable full text PDFs for Public Laws and for all versions of bills leading up to those laws. In addition, it presents just the relevant portions of the Congressional Record along with committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, Congressional Research Service reports, and other congressional publications related to the law. [more]



ProQuest NewsstandRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProQuest NewsstandProQuest Newsstand contains over 850 newspapers with access to 575 full-text titles. With titles like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and major regionals like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and the Boston Globe, users can also find access to international, national, and regional news. Coverage: 1980′s to present. [more]



ProQuest Technology CollectionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database, TRD, Technology Research Database, ProQuest Technology Collection

ProQuest Technology CollectionProQuest Technology Collection indexes over 16 million abstracts, over 7.7 million tables and figures, and includes over 2,700 full text journals. It is comprised of ProQuest Advanced Technologies with Aerospace Collection; ProQuest Materials Science Collection; ProQuest Engineering Collection; ProQuest Computer Science Collection; and ProQuest Illustrata: Technology. Coverage starts from 1962. [more]



ProteinDBSAnyone can use
ProteinDBSSearch more than 50,000 chains of 3-D protein structures by ID or query by example to identify similar structures. [more]



Psychiatric SecretsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Psychiatric Secrets [more]



Psychology DatabasesAnyone can use
Psychology Databases [more]



PsycINFORestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Psychological Abstracts

PsycINFOLocate articles in articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. From the American Psychological Association. Includes a feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results. [more]



PsycINFO with PsycARTICLESRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: psychological abstracts

PsycINFO with PsycARTICLESPsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 149,000 full-text articles from more than 70 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided. [more]



PubChemAnyone can use
PubChemLocate information on structure and biological activity of over 800,000 small organic molecules. Search by substance, bioassay or compound. Information is imported from 14 public sources, including ChemID plus. Structure and similarity searching are also supported. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information, it includes links to other Pubmed Entrez databases. [more]



PubGetRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: pub get

PubGetA search engine for pdfs in the sciences from PubMed, IEEE and arXiv. Search by topic or set up journal title alerts. Supported by advertising. [more]



Public Policy DatabasesAnyone can use
Public Policy Databases [more]



PubMedRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
PubMedThe National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

Engineering Case Studies Online – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Engineering Case Studies Online - TrialEngineering Case Studies Online offers hundreds of hours of video and thousands of pages of text resources providing analysis of key engineering failures. It includes feature-length video documentaries, simulations, case details, primary footage of accidents, audio footage and transcripts, testimonies, accident reports and more. Trial ends August 6, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources