Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: O

OAIsterAnyone can use
OAIsterOAIster is a collection of freely available academically-oriented digital resources. [more]



Occupational Therapy DatabasesAnyone can use
Occupational Therapy Databases [more]



OECD Health StatisticsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: OECD ilibrary; OECD health data; SourceOECD; Source oecd

OECD Health StatisticsThe demand for health-related data is high. One of the main obstacles limiting meaningful analysis of health care systems has always been, and still is, the lack of sufficient coverage and availability of health care statistics. The need for internationally-comparable data is on the rise as national administrations seek to evaluate their health care systems against those of other countries. OECD Health Data 2010 aims to address a sizeable part of these needs for Member countries. The database is designed to further the knowledge of health services inputs and throughputs, highlight differences in common medical practices, help quantify key non-medical health-related factors and, in a world of financial constraints, to describe key features of each system’s financing and delivery mechanisms. [more]



Older Americans : a changing marketRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Older Americans : a changing marketProvides the latest statistics on the health, living arrangements, incomes, spending, and wealth of the 55-or-older age group. [more]



OLDMEDLINEAnyone can use
OLDMEDLINECitations from the back volumes of Cumulated Index Medicus prior to 1966; older items are gradually being added. [more]



OMIA: Online Mendelian Inheritance in AnimalsAnyone can use
OMIA: Online Mendelian Inheritance in AnimalsDatabase of genes, inherited disorders, and traits in more than 135 animal species other than human and mourse. Produced by University of Sydney. [more]



Online Dissertations: Veterinary MedicineAnyone can use
Online Dissertations: Veterinary MedicineAccess to international Veterinary dissertations. From University of Hanover, Germany. [more]



Online Medieval Sources BibliographyAnyone can use
Online Medieval Sources BibliographyThis database provides a searchable bibliography of texts that were written in the Middle Ages and are now available in printed or online editions and translations. [more]



Ornithological Worldwide LiteratureAnyone can use
Also Known as: Recent Ornithological Literature; ROL; Recent Ornithological Literature Online, ROLO, OWL

Ornithological Worldwide LiteratureCitations and abstracts from the worldwide scientific literature that pertain to the science of ornithology. Includes journals, conference proceedings, reports and doctoral dissertations. Excludes domestic and pet birds. [more]



OrphanetAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
OrphanetLists information on orphan drugs in Europe, Japan, Australia, or the United States. Also includes descriptions of rare diseases, including current research projects. A diagnostic tool for 2300 dysmorphic syndromes allows searching by clinical findings. Maintained by a consortium of European partners. [more]



OT CATS: Occupational Therapy Critically Appraised TopicsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
OT CATS:  Occupational Therapy Critically Appraised TopicsEach CAT represents an attempt to marshal the available research evidence on occupational therapy interventions. CATS, or Critically Appraised Topics, are shorter and less rigorous versions of systematic reviews which have not undergone peer review. From the University of Western Sydney, New South Wales. [more]



OTSearchRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
OTSearchMaintained by the AOTA, this is the premier source for access to the literature of occupational therapy. Formerly known as OTBibSys. [more]



OTSeekerRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
OTSeekerSearch for randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews relevant to occupational therapy. Studies are ranked using the same PEDro scale used in the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. [more]



OVID DatabasesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
OVID DatabasesGateway to OVID databases such as MEDLINE, EBM Reviews, etc. [more]



OVID TrainingAnyone can use
OVID TrainingOVID Training is library training access to OVID databases. To be used only for library instruction sessions. [more]



OvidSP Medical SearchRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
OvidSP Medical SearchType in a question or topic to see the most relevant results in MEDLINE, Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews, and Journals@Ovid. [more]



Oxford Art OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Oxford Art OnlineOxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online, Oxford companion to Western art, Concise Oxford dictionary of art terms, and Encyclopedia of aesthetics. Grove Art Online provides access to over 45,000 signed articles, 21,000 biographies, and 5000 searchable and embedded images. [more]



Oxford Dictionary of IslamRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Oxford Dictionary of Islam [more]



Oxford Dictionary of NursingRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Oxford Dictionary of Nursing [more]



Oxford English Dictionary OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: OED

Oxford English Dictionary OnlineContains etymologies, definitions and usage of English worldwide, from 1150 to the present. [more]



Oxford Reference Online PremiumRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Oxford Reference Online PremiumOxford Reference Online Premium is a searchable database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas. [more]



Oxford University Press JournalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: OUP

Oxford University Press Journalsover 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: ABSEES

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) - TrialABSEES provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. It indexes books, dissertations, journals, select government publications and online resources covering anthropology, culture, economics, education and geography. Trial ends December 15, 2014. [more]



Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: henry stewart talks

Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks - TrialThis collection provides access to over 1,500 online seminar style talks containing the latest research developments as well as the fundamentals presented by leading world experts, including Nobel Laureates. Trial ends December 31, 2014. [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2010) with Index (1851-1993) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2010) with Index (1851-1993) - TrialSearchable full-text of the New York Times from 1851-2010, with additional search capability (covering 1851-1993) using subject terms and topics for more focused and targeted results. Trial ends December 4, 2014. [more]



Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources