Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: N

Nadas’ Pediatric Cardiology, 2nd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Pediatric Cardiology;

Nadas Pediatric Cardiology, 2nd ed. [more]



NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)Anyone can use
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. The type of information found in NTRS include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos. [more]



National Criminal Justice Reference ServiceAnyone can use
Also Known as: NCJRS

National Criminal Justice Reference Service(NCJRS) contains summaries of over 180,000 criminal justice publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles and unpublished research. This is a good source for statistics and it links to the full-text NCJRS Virtual Library. [more]



National Drug Code DirectoryAnyone can use
National Drug Code DirectoryTrade name, dosage form, National Drug Code, active ingredients, strength and packaging information for all commercially distributed presciption drugs, as well as a few selected OTC products. From the Food and Drug Administration. [more]



National Guideline ClearinghouseAnyone can use
National Guideline ClearinghouseNational Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. In addition to searching or browsing for guidelines, results can be displayed in tabular format to allow for comparison. [more]



National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database (EED)Anyone can use
National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database (EED)With over 6000 abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations, the database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses. Published by the Cochrane Collaboration with funding from the British National Health Service. Can be searched as part of EBMR Evidence Based Medicine Reviews. [more]



National Health Service Health Technology Assessment DatabaseAnyone can use
National Health Service Health Technology Assessment DatabaseLocate descriptions of systematic reviews, ongoing and completed trials assessing the impact of health technologies. Can be searched as part of EBMR – Evidence Based Medicine Reviews. From the INAHTA Secretariat, based at SBU, Sweden in conjunction with the Cochrane Collaboration. [more]



National Human Genome Research Institute Policy and Legislation DatabaseAnyone can use
National Human Genome Research Institute Policy and Legislation DatabaseLocate federal and state laws/statutes, and federal legislative, administrative and executive materials related to genetic testing and its public policy implications. [more]



National Institutes of Health Office of Extramural ResearchAnyone can use
National Institutes of Health Office of Extramural ResearchInformation about federally funded research. Annual statistics showing amounts of NIH grant money received at higher education institutions, medical schools, and other health professional schools and nonprofits. Includes lists ranked by grant monies received. [more]



Native American EthnobotanyAnyone can use
Native American EthnobotanyA guide to plant derivatives used by Native Americans, including plants used for medicinal purposes. Search by plant name, tribe, or pharmacological action. Includes article references and links to the USDA Plants database. [more]



Native Health Research DatabaseAnyone can use
Native Health Research DatabaseIndexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]



Natural Resources DatabasesAnyone can use
Natural Resources Databases [more]



Natural Standard Herb and Supplement Information in MedlinePlusAnyone can use
Natural Standard Herb and Supplement Information in MedlinePlusEvidence based information on usage, indications, interactions and toxicity for over 100 herbals and supplements. From Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. [more]



Nature journalsCD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
Nature journalsNature journals provides electronic access to the journal Nature and the 7 Nature research journals. [more]



Naxos Music LibraryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Naxos Music LibraryNaxos Music Library provides online access to more than 34,000 CDs of western classical music , world music and jazz recordings. Every month approximately 500 new CDs are added. Tracks can be located by searching keyword searching or by browsing alphabetical lists. [more]



Naxos Video LibraryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: NVL

Naxos Video LibraryA streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, documentaries, and master classes. Over 555 videos and growing. [more]



NCBI Databases Site MapAnyone can use
NCBI Databases Site MapA starting point for searching gene sequences and molecular biology information found in GenBank/Entrez, RefSeq, OMIM, LocusLink, and more. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources. [more]



NCBI Images DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: pubmed images database ; pubmed central image database ; pubmed image database ; pubmed central images ; pmc images

NCBI Images DatabaseThe NCBI Images Database has now been folded into PubMed Central. To search for specific images on PubMed Central, go to the Advanced Search Page and search the [Figure/Table Caption] field. [more]



NCDC: National Climatic Data CenterAnyone can use
NCDC: National Climatic Data CenterLarge archive of U.S. and world climatological data. Includes local climatological data. The University of Missouri-Columbia is considered an authorized user of this site so if you are affiliated with UMC, you can access the items online which have the notation “Free access by certain agencies and individuals (limited access only)”. [more]



NCJRS National Criminal Justice Reference Service DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ncjrs

NCJRS National Criminal Justice Reference Service DatabaseCovers over 189,000 criminal justice publications dating back to the 1970s. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drug abuse, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims. In addition to journal articles, federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, and unpublished research are also included. From the U.S. Department of Justice. [more]



NetAdvantageRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
NetAdvantageNetAdvantage provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records. [more]



Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsAnyone can use
Also Known as: NDLTD

Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsThe Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. [more]



New Grove Dictionary of Music and MusiciansRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Oxford Music Online

New Grove Dictionary of Music and MusiciansNew Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is the premier music encyclopedia. Includes the New Grove Dictionaries of Jazz and Opera and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. [more]



New York Times Movie ReviewsAnyone can use
Also Known as: NTY Movie Reviews

New York Times Movie Reviews [more]



NewsBankRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
NewsBankNewsbank includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876); U. S. Congressional Serial Set and Serial Set Maps (1817-1980); Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); American State Papers, (1789-1838); World Newspaper Archive, which includes America’s Historical Newspapers and African Newspapers. [more]



Newspaper SourceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Newspaper SourceNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



NICE (National Institute for Clinical Excellence)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
NICE (National Institute for Clinical Excellence)From the National Health Service of England and Wales. Clinical practice guidelines, technology and interventional procedure appraisals on a variety of subjects. [more]



NIH RePORTER (Formerly CRISP)Anyone can use
Also Known as: National Institutes of Health reporter ; crisp ; current review of scientific projects ; Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool

NIH RePORTER (Formerly CRISP)Search federally funded biomedical research projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMSHA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDCP), Agency for Health Care Policy Research (AHCPR), and Office of Assistant Secretary of Health (OASH). Results can be exported to an Excel spreadsheet. View the amount of research funding for a given disease, or the success rates for different types of grants. In addition to project descriptions, NIH RePORTER now includes links to publications and patents arising from NIH funded research, with links to PubMed Central, PubMed, and the US Patent & Trademark Office databases. [more]



Nineteenth Century Literature DatabasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: Literature, Nineteenth Century

Nineteenth Century Literature Databases [more]



NLM GatewayRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
NLM GatewayMost of the resources formerly available via the NLM Gateway are available on the NLM Homepage. More information is available here. [more]



NORINAAnyone can use
NORINANORINA is an English-language database containing information on over 3,800 audiovisual aids that may be used as alternatives or supplements to the use of animals in teaching.  [more]



North American Women’s Letters and DiariesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
North American Womens Letters and DiariesNorth American Women’s Letters and Diaries provides access to full-text letters & diaries by 687 North American women from colonial times to 1950. [more]



NSSN Standards SearchRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
NSSN Standards SearchNO FULL TEXT. Search for standards information from many organizations, including the American Society for Testing Materials (ASTM), the International Standards Organization (ISO), the National Committee for Information Technology Standards, the Society for Automotive Engineers (SAE), and more. From the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). [more]



NTIS DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
NTIS DatabaseNTIS (National Technical Information Service) is the major resource for locating U.S. Government sponsored research in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences, medicine and health sciences, agriculture and social sciences. [more]



Nursing DatabasesAnyone can use
Nursing Databases [more]



Nursing Home CompareAnyone can use
Nursing Home CompareDatabase to compare nursing homes. Also includes links to Guide to Choosing a Nursing Home and Nursing Home Checklist. [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: ABSEES

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) - TrialABSEES provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. It indexes books, dissertations, journals, select government publications and online resources covering anthropology, culture, economics, education and geography. Trial ends December 15, 2014. [more]



Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: henry stewart talks

Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks - TrialThis collection provides access to over 1,500 online seminar style talks containing the latest research developments as well as the fundamentals presented by leading world experts, including Nobel Laureates. Trial ends December 31, 2014. [more]



CRCnetBASE – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
CRCnetBASE - TrialCRCnetBASE includes searchable access to more than 12,000 eBook titles, covering scientific, technical, business, engineering, medical and veterinary medical references. Trial ends Oct. 23, 2014. [more]



Digital Loeb Classical Library – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Digital Loeb Classical Library - TrialThe Digital Loeb Classical Library is a searchable collection of more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek and English texts. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy and oratory and others are included. Trial ends November 14, 2014. [more]



Garland Encyclopedia of World Music – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music - TrialThe Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is an online reference resource devoted to music research about all of the world’s peoples. More than 9,000 pages of text material and 300 audio recordings come from 700 contributors worldwide. It providess an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study. Trial ends Nov. 7, 2014. [more]



Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance - TrialThe Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance includes bibliographies of secondary and primary materials related to the period of 400-1700 CE as well as several journals and an international directory of scholars. Trial ends October 17, 2014. [more]



Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



Rock’s Backpages – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: Rocks Backpages; Rocks Back Pages; Rock’s Back Pages

Rocks Backpages - TrialRock’s Backpages covers all types of popular music from the 1960s to the present. It includes over 25,000 articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) and over 400 exclusive and previously unpublished audio interviews with major music icons. Trial ends October 4, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources