Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: M

Making of Modern Law – Legal Treatises 1800-1926Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926Making of Modern Law – Legal Treatises 1800-1926 provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library. [more]



Making of Modern Law – Trials 1600-1926Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Making of Modern Law - Trials 1600-1926Making of Modern Law – Trials 1600-1926 contains over 7,000 trial transcripts from Harvard, Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York give scholars insight on class structure and the making of modern law. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library. [more]



Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926This database includes pre-1926 treatises and similar monographs in the following areas: International, Comparative, Foreign, Roman, Islamic, Jewish, and Ancient Law. 50% of the texts are in English; 50% in the following Western European languages:French, Spanish, German, Latin, and Italian. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library. [more]



Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1600-1926Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1600-1926Based primarily on holdings of the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University, including early state codes, city charters, and documents relating to constitutional conventions. Missouri resources include state constitutional conventions, adopted Constitutions, and historical Revised Statutes, among other resources. Access provided by the MU Law Library. [more]



Management DatabasesAnyone can use
Management Databases [more]



Marketing DatabasesAnyone can use
Marketing Databases [more]



MAS Ultra – School EditionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
MAS Ultra - School EditionMAS Ultra – School Edition is a searchable full-text index of over 500 K-12 magazines. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



Massachusetts General Hospital Comprehensive Clinical PsychiatryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Massachusetts General Hospital Comprehensive Clinical Psychiatry [more]



MasterFile PremierRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
MasterFile PremierMasterFile Premier provides searchable full-text for nearly 1,750 general interest, business, health, and multi-cultural magazines and journals. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



MasterPlots CompleteCD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
MasterPlots CompleteMasterPlots Complete contains plot summaries, brief critical essays, author biographies for fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama worldwide. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]



Materials Research Database with METADEXRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Materials Science

Materials Research Database with METADEXBrings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH. [more]



Materials Safety Data SheetsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Materials Safety Data SheetsProduct identification, manufacturer, emergency and safety information for over 180,000 products manufactured in the U.S. and Canada. Search by product name, company, CAS registry number, or NSN. [more]



Materials Science DatabasesAnyone can use
Materials Science Databases [more]



Mathematics DatabasesAnyone can use
Mathematics Databases [more]



MathSciNetRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
MathSciNetMathSciNet is an index of articles related to pure and applied mathematics. It is based on the data in the Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. [more]



MAUDE – Manufacturer and User Facility Device Experience DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
MAUDE - Manufacturer and User Facility Device Experience DatabaseMAUDE data represents reports of adverse events involving medical devices. The data consists of all voluntary reports since June, 1993, user facility reports since 1991, distributor reports since 1993, and manufacturer reports since August, 1996. From the FDA Center for Devices & Radiological Health. [more]



MDConsultRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: MD Consult ; md-consult

MDConsultSearch a collection of over 50 books in clinical medicine and the basic sciences, including such popular texbooks as The Harriet Lane Handbook, Campbell’s Operative Orthopaedics, Robbins and Cotran’s Pathologic Basis of Disease, and Mettler’s Essentials of Radiology. Also included are many of the Clinics of North America review series, plus a handful of other popular clinical journals from Elsevier. Includes patient education materials, including McKesson’s Clinical Reference System. Drug information is provided by Gold Standard. [more]



MDConsult Images DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: md consult images

MDConsult Images DatabaseSearch over 50,000 images from the MDConsult textbook collection. Users may print or download images for their personal, non-commercial use provided that all copyright and other proprietary notices are kept intact.To use images in a poster, publication, or for any other similar use, permission must be requested through the Elsevier Rights Department. [more]



MDR Medical Device Reporting DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
MDR Medical Device Reporting DatabaseThis database allows you to search the CDRH’s database information on medical devices which may have malfunctioned or caused a death or serious injury during the years 1992 through 1996. From the FDA Center for Devices & Radiological Health. [more]



Medical Letter on Drugs and TherapeuticsAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
Also Known as: medical letter ; medical letter treatment guidelines

Medical Letter on Drugs and TherapeuticsOffers unbiased critical evaluations of drugs, with special emphasis on new drugs, to physicians and other members of the health professions. The Medical Letter is an independent, peer-reviewed, nonprofit publication that accepts no advertising, grants or donations. Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1. [more]



Medicine DatabasesAnyone can use
Medicine Databases [more]



Medieval Literature DatabasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: Literature, Medieval

Medieval Literature Databases [more]



MEDLINE (Ovid)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
MEDLINE (Ovid)Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]



MEDLINE Top 5 SearchRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
MEDLINE Top 5 SearchA google-like search box to pull only the 5 most relevant results from MEDLINE. [more]



MedlinePlusAnyone can use
MedlinePlusThe premier consumer health gateway from the National Library Medicine. Contents include a medical encyclopedia, drug information and links to evaluated health information. [more]



Mental Measurements YearbookRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Mental Measurements YearbookThe Mental Measurements Yearbook series, produced since 1938 by the Buros Institute, provides critical evaluations for over 2,000 commercial tests within a wide variety of areas that include education, psychology, business, aptitude, achievement, and intelligence. [more]



Merck IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Merck IndexThe Merck Index provides authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals, including scientific significance, physical and toxicity data, therapeutic and commercial uses, caution and hazard information and key references in the literature. [more]



Mergent OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Mergent OnlineUpdated weekly. Provides immediate access to data on more than 10,000 NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq and other select regional exchange companies. Coverage includes: history, business description, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, Moody’s rating, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, auditors, exchange and ticker symbol, number of employees, number of shareholders, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges, trustee, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, annual meeting date, Moody’s news reports, and direct, real-time access to the EDGAR, the SEC website which includes are annual, quarterly, and special corporation records. [more]



Mergent Web Reports/Digitized Archive ManualsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Mergent Web Reports/Digitized Archive ManualsMergent WebReports/Digitized Archive Manuals: provides electronic access to all Moody’s/Mergent manuals ever published dating back to 1909. (Municipal and Govt manual currently not available.) WebReports contain more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries using an easy-to-navigate and reliable system. [more]



MERLINAnyone can use
Also Known as: Library Catalog

MERLINLocate books, journals, magazines, newspapers, sound recordings, videos, etc. owned by the MU Libraries [more]



MERLIN Dissertation and Theses SearchAnyone can use
MERLIN Dissertation and Theses SearchTheses and dissertations completed at MU are listed in the MERLIN Catalog. Browse the list of departments or search by author or title. Most MU dissertations written before 1995 will be in the UM Library Depository. Use the Request button to have it delivered to the library to check out. Many dissertations written since 1995 are available online. Click on the link in the MERLIN record to access it. [more]



metaRegister of Controlled TrialsAnyone can use
metaRegister of Controlled TrialsSummaries from over 10,000 randomized trials (both ongoing and completed) worldwide from 20 clinical trial registers. Each trial is assigned a International Standard Randomized Controlled Trial Number to faciliate tracking. [more]



MICROMEDEXRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
MICROMEDEXA variety of databases covering topics such as medicine, drugs, alternative and complementary medicine, patient education and occupational health. Search multiple Micromedex databases via the Integrated Index (http://micromedex.umh.edu ) feature or search individual databases. Brought to you by University of Missouri Health Care. [more]



Middle Eastern and Central Asian StudiesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Middle Eastern and Central Asian StudiesThis database is an index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage is from 1900- present. [more]



Middle English CompendiumRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Middle English CompendiumThe Middle English Compendium provides interlinked access to several resources: the online Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, with links to associated online resources. [more]



Middle Search PlusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Middle Search PlusMiddle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. It also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



MintelRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
MintelIncludes market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports. In order to use Mintel, you must first agree to the terms of Mintel Academic Access. After you agree, you will then be asked to sign in with your Mintel Reports Personal Profile before you can use the database. New users can create a profile using an online form that provides Mintel with your name, email address and a password of your own choosing; however, the email address must include either the “missouri.edu or mizzou.edu” domain [e.g. Addresses from other domains [e.g., @yahoo.com, @gmail.com, @mac.co [more]



Missouri Newspaper Collection at the State Historical Society of MissouriAnyone can use
Missouri Newspaper Collection at the State Historical Society of MissouriIncludes the Missouri Digital Newspaper Project, Index to Selected Missouri Newspapers, 1808-1929 and a listing of Missouri newspapers on microfilm available at the State Historical Society of Missouri. [more]



MLA Directory of PeriodicalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
MLA Directory of PeriodicalsMLA Directory of Periodicals is a directory of over 3,700 periodicals in literature, language, linguistics, folklore. [more]



MLA International BibliographyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
MLA International BibliographyMLA indexes critical scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, linguistics and folklore. [more]



MOBIUS – Missouri Bibliographic Information User SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
MOBIUS - Missouri Bibliographic Information User SystemSearch the collections of over 70 college and university libraries throughout Missouri. Books can be ordered at no cost using your employee or student ID, and can picked up at a nearby MOBIUS library of your choice. [more]



Model Grant Funding Proposals – MU Office of ResearchAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
Model Grant Funding Proposals  - MU Office of ResearchView funded internal and external grant proposals by MU researchers as models to assist in preparing successful grant applications. Search/browse by type of funding, investigator, department, title, and more. Restricted to MU affiliates. PawPrint required for access. [more]



Modern and Contemporary Literature DatabasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: Literature, Modern and Contemporary

Modern and Contemporary Literature Databases [more]



Molecular Imaging and Contrast Agent DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Molecular Imaging and Contrast Agent DatabaseInformation on structure, synthesis and uses of in vivo molecular agents developed for positron emission tomography (PET), single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), ultrasound (US), computed tomography (CT), optical imaging, and planar radiography, gamma imaging and other methods. Includes links to MEDLINE and other NIH and NCBI resources. [more]



Monumenta Germaniae Historica Digital (MGH)Anyone can use
Monumenta Germaniae Historica Digital (MGH)MGH is a comprehensive collection of medieval sources for the study of German history from the end of the Roman Empire to 1500. The digital version includes volumes in print for more than five years. Print volumes are available in the MU Libraries. [more]



MOspaceAnyone can use
Also Known as: mo space; mu digital institutional repository

MOspaceMOspace is the digital institutional repository of the University of Missouri System, and is a joint initiative of the University Libraries, the Office of Library Systems, and the Division of Information Technology. It is a permanent digital storehouse of research and knowledge, focusing on works created by those connected with the University of Missouri. MOspace is place where faculty, staff and students can store their intellectual output, and depend upon a permanent URL. Authors can submit works directly to mospace@missouri.edu; most electronic formats are accepted for submission. [more]



Movie Review Query EngineAnyone can use
Also Known as: MRQE

Movie Review Query Engine [more]



MRI+ Mediamark Internet ReporterAnyone can use
Also Known as: MediaMark, MRI, Mediamark Reporter, media mark

MRI+ Mediamark Internet ReporterContains detailed consumer product usage and media information collected from a national sample of U.S. consumers. You must create an account at MRI+ to use it. Click on the “Register for Free” link to create a new account. Input “University of Missouri-Columbia” in the company field. The email address must include either the “missouri.edu” or “mizzou.edu” domain. Addresses from other domains [e.g., @yahoo.com, @gmail.com, @mac.com] will not be accepted. [more]



MU Academic Support Center Media CatalogAnyone can use
MU Academic Support Center Media CatalogDescribes over 5000 videos and films available for rental from the University of Missouri- Columiba’s Academic Support Center. Formerly published in print under the title Educational Video Catalog. [more]



Multimodal Cardiovascular Imaging: Principles and Clinical ApplicationsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Multimodal Cardiovascular Imaging: Principles and Clinical Applications [more]



Music DatabasesAnyone can use
Music Databases [more]



Music IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Music IndexMusic Index covers more than 40 international music periodicals, listing articles dealing with every aspect of classical and popular music. [more]



MyiLibraryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
MyiLibraryMyiLibrary provides full-text access to over 1,200 electronic books from several international agencies, including the UN and others. Includes intergovernmental publications in the social sciences, medicine, and engineering. Also includes access to FactLab, a statistical database. [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

ACLS Humanities E-Book – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: HEB

ACLS Humanities E-Book - TrialThe HEB is an online, fully searchable collection of approximately 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities. Titles include monographs, critical studies, primary sources, reference works and volumes of essays. Trial ends April 30, 2014. [more]



Communication Source – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Communication Source - TrialDeveloped from a merger of EBSCO’s Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communications Abstracts, this resource offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Content includes full-text from over 800 titles and indexing for more than 1000 titles, including academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and periodicals. Trial ends May 27, 2014. [more]



Gannett Newsstand – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Gannett Newsstand - TrialGannett Newsstand offers exclusive access to over 85 local and regional U.S. newspapers from Gannett including the Detroit Free Press, The Indianapolis Star and The Tennessean. The Gannett newspapers are available in full text and include all articles of substance written by staff writers, death notices, birth notices, editorials, reviews, letters to the editor, and selected online content. Trial ends April 25, 2014. [more]



Lecture Notes in Mathematics – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Lecture Notes in Mathematics - TrialThis series reports on new developments in all areas of mathematics and their applications. Date coverage is 2005-2014. Trial ends May 6, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources