Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: L

LactMed Drugs and Lactation DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
LactMed Drugs and Lactation DatabaseA peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider. [more]



L’Annee PhilologiqueRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
LAnnee PhilologiqueL’Annee Philologique covers all aspects of the ancient Greek and Roman world. It covers a broad range of subjects from language and literature to history, archaeology and more. [more]



LAPTOC: Latin American Periodicals Tables of ContentsAnyone can use
LAPTOC: Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents [more]



Law DatabasesAnyone can use
Law Databases [more]



LearningExpress LibraryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Learning Express Library

LearningExpress LibraryLearningExpress Library contains online test preparation materials including the ACT, ASVAB, Civil Service, Cosmetology, EMS, Firefighter, GED, GMAT, GRE, Law Enforcement, Paramedic, PPST, Real Estate, SAT, United States Citizenship and more. You will need to register a username and password at the site. [more]



LEEDuserRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
LEEDuserLEEDuser is a tool BuildingGreen built with the USGBC and YR+G Sustainability. It gives the guidance, examples, and community that aid any LEED certification process. Access provided by MU Campus Facilities. [more]



LegalTracRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
LegalTracLegalTrac provides indexing for approximately 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. [more]



LexicompAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
LexicompComprehensive drug information resource [more]



Lexi-Comp Drug Information in UpToDateAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
Lexi-Comp Drug Information  in UpToDateSearch a drug in UpToDate to view the Lexi-Comp information on drug dosage, uses, interactions, side effects, and more. [more]



LexisNexis AcademicRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
LexisNexis AcademicLexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more]



Library Literature and Information Science Full TextRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Library Literature and Information Science Full TextLibrary Literature and Information Science Full Text is an index of library and information science periodicals. [more]



Library of Congress CatalogRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Library of Congress CatalogLists English language books 1968+, books in all languages 1980+, and microforms 1984+ in the Library of Congress collection. [more]



Library Science DatabasesAnyone can use
Library Science Databases [more]



Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full TextRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: LISTA

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full TextLISTA with Full Text covers librarianship, classification, cataloging, information management and more. It contains full text from more than 330 journals and indexes more than 560 journals. [more]



LibraryMusicSource.comRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Library Music Source; Music Source; MusicSource, Music scores;

LibraryMusicSource.comLibraryMusicSource.com features the complete or near complete works of the great composers such as Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Mozart, Tchaikovsky etc. It includes study scores and also is an extensive (35000 titles) collection of studies and works for piano, organ, voice, instruments as well as all parts to over 630 orchestral masterworks. [more]



LILACSRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
LILACSThe Latin American equivalent of MEDLINE, covering 669 journals in Portuguese, Spanish & English. Although the majority of articles indexed are in Portuguese or Spanish, it’s possible to search using English keywords. [more]



Literary IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Literary IndexLiterary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references more than 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source. [more]



Literature Arts and Medicine DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Literature Arts and Medicine DatabaseAn database of prose, poetry, film and art works dealing with health and medicine. Searchable by medium, author/creator, title, era, and subject. [more]



Literature OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: LION

Literature OnlineLiterature Online provides access to English language literature in full-text, reference works, bibliographies, web pages and full-text journals. [more]



LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsLLBA indexes over 1,500 journals and additional books, dissertations and other media covering all aspects of linguistics, speech, language and hearing pathology. [more]



LLMC DigitalRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Law Library Microfilm Consortium Digital Collection

LLMC DigitalLLMC is a non-profit consortium of libraries devoted to providing legal and law-related materials. Full text coverage includes federal, state and foreign and international materials relating broadly to law and governance. [more]



LOCATORplusAnyone can use
LOCATORplusSearch the library collection of the National Library of Medicine. [more]



Luther’s SermonsCD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
Luthers SermonsLuther’s Sermons offers searchable full-text of a collection of sermons of Martin Luther (1483-1546). Edited and translated by John Nicholas Lenker. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]



Luther’s WorksCD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
Luthers WorksLuther’s Works contains the translated works of Martin Luther in searchable, online full-text. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: ABSEES

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) - TrialABSEES provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. It indexes books, dissertations, journals, select government publications and online resources covering anthropology, culture, economics, education and geography. Trial ends December 15, 2014. [more]



Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: BTL

Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina - TrialSearchable full-text access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana. Trial ends November 21, 2014. [more]



Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: henry stewart talks

Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks - TrialThis collection provides access to over 1,500 online seminar style talks containing the latest research developments as well as the fundamentals presented by leading world experts, including Nobel Laureates. Trial ends December 31, 2014. [more]



Digital Loeb Classical Library – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Digital Loeb Classical Library - TrialThe Digital Loeb Classical Library is a searchable collection of more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek and English texts. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy and oratory and others are included. Trial ends November 14, 2014. [more]



Digital Theatre Plus – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Digital Theatre Plus - TrialDigital Theatre Plus includes filmed theatre productions of classic texts from across the UK, the Broadway Digital Archive, filmed workshops with drama techniques and exercises, interviews with production teams and study guides. Trial ends November 15, 2014. [more]



Garland Encyclopedia of World Music – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music - TrialThe Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is an online reference resource devoted to music research about all of the world’s peoples. More than 9,000 pages of text material and 300 audio recordings come from 700 contributors worldwide. It providess an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study. Trial ends Nov. 7, 2014. [more]



Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



Thesaurus Linguae Latinae – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: TLL

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae - TrialSearchable full-text of the largest Latin dictionary. TLL covers all Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. Trial ends November 21, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources