Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: J

Jablonski’s Multiple Congenital Anomaly/Mental Retardation (MCA/MR) Syndromes DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Jablonskis Multiple Congenital Anomaly/Mental Retardation (MCA/MR) Syndromes DatabaseA dictionary of over 700 congenital syndromes and chromosomal aberrations which are associated with mental retardation, drawn from Stanley Jablonski’s book, Dictionary of Syndromes and Eponymic Diseases. 2nd ed. Malabar, FL, Krieger, 1991. Includes bibliographies, and, where available, links to McKusick’s Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man. As of 2004, no new updates are planned. [more]



Jekel’s Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public HealthRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health

Jekels Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health [more]



Job & Career AcceleratorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Job and Career Accelerator

Job & Career AcceleratorProvides information about over 1,000 different occupations, ability to search for local and national job and internship postings, information on creating professional resumes and cover letters and practicing interviewing skills. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



Journal Citation ReportsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: JCR

Journal Citation ReportsSource of impact factors and rankings for journals in the sciences and social sciences. [more]



Journal Watch Emergency MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Journal Watch Emergency MedicineJournal Watch editors scan the medical literature, select the most clinically significant articles each week, and write a brief summary and commentary for each. Scroll down to link to the original article. Note: To find the article, you may need to access the library’s holdings via the Article Finder. [more]



Journal Watch General MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Journal Watch General MedicineJournal Watch editors scan the medical literature, select the most clinically significant articles each week, and write a brief summary and commentary for each. Scroll down to link to the original article. Note: To find the article, you may need to access the library’s holdings via the Article Finder. [more]



Journal Watch Pediatrics and Adolescent MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Journal Watch Pediatrics and Adolescent MedicineJournal Watch editors scan the medical literature, select the most clinically significant articles each week, and write a brief summary and commentary for each. Scroll down to link to the original article. Note: To find the article, you may need to access the library’s holdings via the Article Finder. [more]



Journalism DatabasesAnyone can use
Journalism Databases [more]



Journals@OvidRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Journals@OvidFull-text of primarily health-related journals [more]



JSTORRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
JSTORJSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals from the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. [more]



JURNAnyone can use
JURNJURN is a search-engine dedicated to indexing free ‘open access’ ejournals in the arts and humanities, along with other arts and scholarly publications offering free content. Currently indexes over 4,000 ejournals. [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

Engineering Case Studies Online – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Engineering Case Studies Online - TrialEngineering Case Studies Online offers hundreds of hours of video and thousands of pages of text resources providing analysis of key engineering failures. It includes feature-length video documentaries, simulations, case details, primary footage of accidents, audio footage and transcripts, testimonies, accident reports and more. Trial ends August 6, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources