Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: I

IBISWorldRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: IBIS World; IBIS

IBISWorldIBISWorld provides reports for all of the 723 industries in the United States as categorized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). IBISWorld research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance and 5 year forecasts. Each comprehensive study also examines details such as; the barriers to entry, operating cost structure (industry averages), technology & systems, and domestic & international markets. Tables and statistics include: Industry revenue, exports, imports, wages, and number of companies in the industry. [more]



IEEE XploreRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
IEEE XploreFull-text access to IET/IEE (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Journals and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. [more]



IHS (ASTM) Specs & StandardsAnyone can use
IHS (ASTM) Specs & StandardsFrom the American Society of Testing Materials, this is a collection of 9,100 standards for testing methods, definitions, practices and classifications, covering medical devices, construction, petroleum products, textiles, paints, plastics, rubber, electrical insulation and electronics, energy sources and metals. Links to fulltext are available for ASTM documents; standards from other agencies are available for purchase. [more]



IIDA Knowledge Center – International Interior Design AssociationAnyone can use
IIDA Knowledge Center - International Interior Design AssociationThe International Interior Design Association Interior design research database indexes academic and trade journals, newspapers, books, government reports, theses, disssertations and websites. [more]



Illustrata: TechnologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Illustrata: TechnologyIllustrata: Technology offers deep indexing for tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature. [more]



Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and MagazinesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and MagazinesContains 65,000 pages with articles, illustrations, cartoons and maps drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers published from 1860 to 1865, from four viewpoints? Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. Every page has been scanned to grayscale or color standards at up to 1200 dpi. The database also includes essays detailing the background and importance of each of the publications and on Civil War topics. [more]



In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and Personal NarrativesAnyone can use
In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and Personal NarrativesIn the First Person is an in-depth index of more than 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world. [more]



Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean RegionAnyone can use
Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean RegionThe MEDLINE for medical journals published in the Eastern Mediterranean Region, including the countries of Afghanistan, Bahrain, Cyprus, Djibouti, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, The Occupied Territories, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, U.A.E., and Yemen Arab Republic. Indexed with MeSH Medical Subject Headings in English and Arabic. From the World Health Organization. [more]



Index of Christian ArtRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Index of Christian ArtThe Index of Christian Art supports the study of symbolism in art by providing descriptions and images of over 80,000 art objects in all media from the beginning of the Christian Era through the middle of the 16th century. It can be searched by artist, title, medium, subject, location, date, etc. The display of some images is restricted by copyright, but references to reproductions in books are provided. [more]



Index to Chiropractic Literature ChiroindexAnyone can use
Index to Chiropractic Literature ChiroindexSearch for articles in chiropractic journals. From the Chiropractic Library Consortium with funding from the Association of Chiropractic Colleges. [more]



Index to English Literary PeriodicalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Index to English Literary PeriodicalsIndex to English Literary Periodicals is an index to articles on all subjects in English periodicals from the 1680s to the 1860s. Cover literary, science, religion, philosophy, history, economics, political science, music, art and theater as well. [more]



Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981This retrospective database indexes (no full text) over 750 legal periodicals published in the US, Canada, UK, Australia and New Zealand. [more]



Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General’s OfficeAnyone can use
Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon Generals OfficeIncludes more than 3.7 million references to books (250,000 items), dissertations (300,000 items), analytics [e.g., journal articles, newspaper articles, obituaries, and letters] (2.5 million items) and portraits (4,400 items) found in the 61 volume set of the same name. The Library of the Surgeon General’s Office was the precursor to today’s National Library of Medicine. Even though the series began publication in 1880, older items can be found here as well. [more]



IndMEDAnyone can use
IndMEDSearch 75 prominent Indian medical journals, most of which are not included in MEDLINE. All articles are indexed with MeSH headings. Maintained by the Indian Medlars Centre. [more]



InformeDesignAnyone can use
InformeDesignDatabase of research in interior design, architecture, landscape architecture and urban planning primarily from journal articles. Free registration required for access. [more]



IngentaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
IngentaIngenta provides access to the full-text of over 600 journals. [more]



INIS Database (IAEA)Anyone can use
INIS Database (IAEA)INIS (International Nuclear Information System) Database. IAEA INIS is operated by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in collaboration with its Member States and co-operating international organizations. Peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology [more]



Institute of Physics JournalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Institute of Physics JournalsInstitute of Physics Journals provides access to full-text coverage of approximately twenty journals from the Institute of Physics. [more]



International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS)Anyone can use
Also Known as: IBIDS ; ODS dietary supplements

International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS)Formerly available as a freestanding database called IBIDS International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements, this has now been folded into PubMed. On the PubMed Limits page, choose Dietary Supplements under Subsets. [more]



International Bibliography of ArtRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: IBA

International Bibliography of ArtIBA indexes scholarly literature on western art. Subject coverage includes fine arts, decorative arts, museum studies, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques and architectural history. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art. [more]



International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full TextRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full TextInternational Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance as well as full-text for over 140 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, etc. [more]



International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and TechnologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and TechnologyInternational Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology contains data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical and other key properties. [more]



International Financial Statistics (IFS)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
International Financial Statistics (IFS)International Financial Statistics (IFS) is a database provided by the International Monetary Fund. It offers approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries, 1948 – present (data availability may vary by country and date). It includes exchange rates, fund accounts and main global and country economic indicators. [more]



International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)IMB covers all subjects pertaining to the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. The database includes over 300,000 articles from about 4500 periodicals and 5000 volumes of conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues in many languages. [more]



International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER) DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER) DatabaseA product of the Cincinnati based Toxicology Excellence for Risk Assessment, ITER presents human health risk values for over 600 chemicals from authoritative groups worldwide, including the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry, Health Canada, the Dutch National Institute of Public Health and the Environment, the International Agency for Research on Cancer, as well as independent parties whose risk values have undergone peer review. [more]



International Veterinary Information Services (IVIS)Anyone can use
International Veterinary Information Services (IVIS)Provides access to electronic books, veterinary meeting proceedings, continuing education, international calendar of veterinary events, and image collections. Free registration required. [more]



International/Foreign Countries DatabasesAnyone can use
International/Foreign Countries Databases [more]



IOPScienceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
IOPScienceIOPscience is an online service for all journal content published by the Institute of Physics. It contains more than 300,000 articles, from 1874 to the present day. Also includes pre-prints from eprintweb.org (a free service, based on the arXiv.org at Cornell University), and editorial and news from IOP community websites. [more]



iPOLLRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
iPOLLThe iPOLL database provides access to nearly half a million public opinion survey questions on a wide range of topics. [more]



IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System)Contains health risk information on over 530 chemicals. From the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. The reference dose and carcinogenicity assessments on IRIS can serve as guides in evaluating potential health hazards and selecting a response to alleviate a potential risk to human health. To search, select IRIS from the drop down search menu. [more]



Isis Current Bibliography of the History of ScienceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Isis Current Bibliography of the History of SciencePublished as a Supplement volume of Isis. [more]



Italian Language and Literature DatabasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: Language and Literature, Italian

Italian Language and Literature Databases [more]



Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance - TrialThe Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance includes bibliographies of secondary and primary materials related to the period of 400-1700 CE as well as several journals and an international directory of scholars. Trial ends October 17, 2014. [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: ABSEES

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) - TrialABSEES provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. It indexes books, dissertations, journals, select government publications and online resources covering anthropology, culture, economics, education and geography. Trial ends December 15, 2014. [more]



Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: henry stewart talks

Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks - TrialThis collection provides access to over 1,500 online seminar style talks containing the latest research developments as well as the fundamentals presented by leading world experts, including Nobel Laureates. Trial ends December 31, 2014. [more]



Digital Loeb Classical Library – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Digital Loeb Classical Library - TrialThe Digital Loeb Classical Library is a searchable collection of more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek and English texts. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy and oratory and others are included. Trial ends November 14, 2014. [more]



Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance - TrialThe Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance includes bibliographies of secondary and primary materials related to the period of 400-1700 CE as well as several journals and an international directory of scholars. Trial ends October 17, 2014. [more]



Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



Rock’s Backpages – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: Rocks Backpages; Rocks Back Pages; Rock’s Back Pages

Rocks Backpages - TrialRock’s Backpages covers all types of popular music from the 1960s to the present. It includes over 25,000 articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) and over 400 exclusive and previously unpublished audio interviews with major music icons. Trial ends October 4, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources