Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: H

Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical TablesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical TablesThis handbook has been designed to provide scientific investigators with a comprehensive and self-contained summary of the mathematical functions that arise in physical and engineering problems. [more]



HAPI – Hispanic American Periodicals IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals IndexHAPI – Hispanic American Periodicals Index indexes articles from over 575 journals on all aspects of life in Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the United States. [more]



HathiTrustAnyone can use
Also Known as: Hathi Trust Hathi

HathiTrustThe Hathi Trust Digital Library contains digital copies of more than 10 million volumes in over 400 languages, printed from 1500-present. Over 3 million volumes are in the public domain and can be viewed/printed/downloaded. Other volumes can be searched, but viewing is restricted. The Digital Library combines full-text searching with the traditional library catalog to facilitate sophisticated queries and easy browsing. MU users can also build private or shared collections within the Digital Library. [more]



Hazardous Substance Data BankAnyone can use
Hazardous Substance Data BankPeer-reviewed information on over 4700 chemicals including information on poisoning, toxicity, environmental fate and exposure, chemical/physical properties, standards and regulations, monitoring and analysis, and safety and handling. A subset of 390 chemicals, WISER (Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders) is available for downloading to Palm OS PDAs. [more]



Haz-MapAnyone can use
Haz-MapTrack occupational exposures by chemical, disorder, or occupation. Learn which occupations have a higher risk for which diseases, as well as the chemicals commonly encountered in different lines of work. From the Specialized Information Services branch of the National Library of Medicine. [more]



HCUPnetAnyone can use
HCUPnetAn interactive tool for identifying, analyzing and comparing statistics on hospital inpatient care. Uses the data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS) of over 1000 hospitals. Also includes data from the State Inpatient Database (SID), representing inpatient care in community hospitals in 36 states (including Missouri), which represents more than half of all U.S. hospital discharges. Create and export tables on costs, demographics, mortality, length of stay, and insurance coverage for diseases or medical procedures. From the U.S. Agency for Health Care Research and Quality. [more]



Health & Medical Subject Guides DatabasesAnyone can use
Health & Medical Subject Guides Databases [more]



HeinOnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
HeinOnlineHeinOnline contains a number of components or “libraries,” including the LAW JOURNAL LIBRARY containing more than 1,400 law and law-related periodicals, the FEDERAL REGISTER LIBRARY containing proposed regulations back to 1936, the CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS LIBRARY dating to 1938, and the UNITED STATE CODE LIBRARY which is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. Also included are the U.S. STATUTES AT LARGE LIBRARY showing all federal legislation as it appeared when originally passed, and the TREATIES AND AGREEMENTS LIBRARY which contains all U.S. treaties whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. [more]



HeritageQuest OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
HeritageQuest OnlineHeritageQuest Online is a comprehensive database of American genealogical sources and is rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. The collection consists of six core data sets: U.S. Federal Censuses from 1790 through 1930, over 28,000 genealogy and local history books, Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War Records, Freedmanís Bank Records and LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set records. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



Highwire PressRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Highwire PressSearch the full-text of almost 1 million articles hosted by Highwire Press; journals from major scientific societies like PNAS, American Journal of Physiology, Journal of Biological Chemistry are fully searchable back to their inception as early as 1899. [more]



HISTLINEAnyone can use
HISTLINEThe HISTLINE history of medicine database is no longer available. Historical journal articles can be searched in PubMed; the books and book chapters formerly found in HISTLINE have been moved to LocatorPlus. All books, book chapters, and journal articles from 1964-1993 formerly found in HISTLINE can also be found in the print resource, Bibliography of the History of Medicine, in the reference collection at the Health Sciences Library. [more]



Historic Missouri Newspaper ProjectAnyone can use
Historic Missouri Newspaper ProjectHistoric Missouri Newspaper Project is a database of searchable full-image of some years from 14 Missouri newspapers. [more]



Historical AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Historical AbstractsSecondary sources (journal articles, dissertations, some books) on the history of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Africa, with some links to full text. [more]



Historical Newspapers DatabasesAnyone can use
Historical Newspapers Databases [more]



Historical Statistics of the United StatesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Historical Statistics of the United StatesHistorical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present. [more]



History (general) DatabasesAnyone can use
History (general) Databases [more]



History of the British Empire DatabasesAnyone can use
History of the British Empire Databases [more]



History, 19th Century U.S. DatabasesAnyone can use
History, 19th Century U.S. Databases [more]



History, U.S. (recent) DatabasesAnyone can use
History, U.S. (recent) Databases [more]



HLAS OnlineAnyone can use
HLAS OnlineHLAS Online is the Handbook of Latin American Studies. HLAS is a scholarly annotated bibliography to works in the field of Latin American studies. [more]



Homeland Security Digital LibraryAnyone can use
Homeland Security Digital LibraryHomeland Security Digital Library contains access to homeland security strategy, policy and research published by Federal, state and local government agencies, international governments and institutions, universities, and think tanks. [more]



Hospitality and Tourism IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Hospitality and Tourism IndexHospitality and Tourism Index covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Major coverage includes demographics and statistics, hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more. [more]



House of Commons Parliamentary PapersRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
House of Commons Parliamentary PapersHouse of Commons Parliamentary Papers covers 1801-1919. Covers social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how British laws were created. [more]



Household Products DatabaseAnyone can use
Household Products DatabaseLinks over 4,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS), including automotive, personal care, gardening, home care, and craft products. Search by product/ingredient, or browse by product category or manufacturer. Based on the Consumer Product Information Database ©2001 by DeLima Associates. From the National Library of Medicine. [more]



HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress)Anyone can use
HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress)Descriptions of research in progress funded by federal and private grants and contracts. [more]



HSRR – Health Service and Sciences Research ResourcesAnyone can use
HSRR -  Health Service and Sciences Research ResourcesContains information about research and statistical datasets, instruments/indices, and software used in Health Services Research and the Behavioral and Social Sciences . [more]



HSTAT (AHCPR Supported Guidelines)Anyone can use
HSTAT (AHCPR Supported Guidelines)Lists the entire text of clinical practice guidelines developed by U.S. government entities such as the Agency for Health Care Policy Research and the National Institutes of Health. [more]



Human Relations Area FileRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Human Relations Area FileHuman Relations Area File covers cultural anthropology, ethnographies of world cultures, especially developing countries and some U.S. immigrant groups. [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: ABSEES

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) - TrialABSEES provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. It indexes books, dissertations, journals, select government publications and online resources covering anthropology, culture, economics, education and geography. Trial ends December 15, 2014. [more]



Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: henry stewart talks

Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks - TrialThis collection provides access to over 1,500 online seminar style talks containing the latest research developments as well as the fundamentals presented by leading world experts, including Nobel Laureates. Trial ends December 31, 2014. [more]



ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2010) with Index (1851-1993) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2010) with Index (1851-1993) - TrialSearchable full-text of the New York Times from 1851-2010, with additional search capability (covering 1851-1993) using subject terms and topics for more focused and targeted results. Trial ends December 4, 2014. [more]



Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources