Databases

 

Databases A-Z

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: F

FactivaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
FactivaFactiva provides access to more than 32,000 sources (such as newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc.) from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages, including more than 600 continuously updated newswires. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only. [more]



FAOSTATAnyone can use
FAOSTATSponsored by the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations. Covers international statistics in agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food quality, and more. [more]



FDsysAnyone can use
FDsysFDsys is the single most comprehensive source for official publications from all three branches of the U.S. government, as well as independent agencies. Provides access to a broad array of full-text databases and finding aids. [more]



Federal RegisterRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Federal RegisterSearchable full text of the Federal Register, updated daily. Contains Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and other Presidential Documents. Site also provides link to database of laws enacted from 1995-. [more]



Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexAnyone can use
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexFeminae covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. [more]



FIAFRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
FIAFFIAF indexes the film and television literature from 300 periodicals. [more]



Film DatabasesAnyone can use
Film Databases [more]



Film Literature IndexAnyone can use
Film Literature IndexFLI indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. [more]



Finance DatabasesAnyone can use
Finance Databases [more]



Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity WorldwideRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Fish and Fisheries Worldwide

Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity WorldwideProvides citations and some abstracts on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, and related aspects of aquaculture. [more]



Fisheries & Wildlife DatabasesAnyone can use
Fisheries & Wildlife Databases [more]



Fishman’s Pulmonary Diseases and DisordersRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders

Fishmans Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders [more]



Food Science & Nutrition DatabasesAnyone can use
Food Science & Nutrition Databases [more]



Food Science and Technology AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: FSTA

Food Science and Technology AbstractsFood Science and Technology Abstracts provides coverage of all scientific and technological aspects of the processing and manufacturing of human food products. [more]



Forestry DatabasesAnyone can use
Forestry Databases [more]



French Language and Literature DatabasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: Language and Literature, French

French Language and Literature Databases [more]



Frost & Sullivan for MU Faculty and StaffAnyone can use
Frost & Sullivan for MU Faculty and StaffFrost Reports cover technology and market trends in various technology, energy & manufacturing related fields including energy, healthcare, food, & information technology. MU has access to all reports in Industry Research, Technology Research, and Economic Research, with limited access to those in Career Research and Live and Virtual Events. MU faculty and staff login with your Pawprint and password. More information on Frost and Sullivan can be found here: http://www.frost.com/prod/servlet/company-info.pag [more]



Frost & Sullivan for MU StudentsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Frost & Sullivan for MU StudentsFrost Reports cover technology and market trends in various technology, energy & manufacturing related fields including energy, healthcare, food, & information technology. MU has access to all reports in Industry Research, Technology Research, and Economic Research, with limited access to those in Career Research and Live and Virtual Events. MU faculty and staff login with your Pawprint and password. [more]



Fuente AcademicaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Fuente AcademicaFuente Academica is a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. [more]



 

Databases by Subject

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases by Type

Try First: Resources for Research

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

  • Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
  • Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

 

Trial Databases

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

Kanopy – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Kanopy - TrialKanopy is a “Netflix-like” solution for college campuses offering over 28,000 films – documentaries, feature films and training videos – from thousands of producers with many new releases launched daily. The trial will provide access to 1,000’s of films from more than 800 filmmakers, including Criterion Collection, PBS, New Day Films, First Run Features, Kino Lorber, California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation, Psychotherapy.net, Green Planet Films, The Great Courses, Seventh Art Releasing, BBC and more. You will also find a wide selection of independent film, including many that are exclusively available on Kanopy. Trial ends August 31, 2015. [more]



Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice - TrialThis resource provides access to many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps in high quality greyscale and colour. All printed items are fully text-searchable and manuscripts have document-level indexing. Themes covered include: Slavery in the Early Americas, African Coast, Middle Passage, Slavery and Agriculture, Urban and Domestic Slavery, Slave Testimony, Spiritualism and Religion, Resistance and Revolts, Underground Railroad, The Abolition Movement and the Slavery Debate, Legislation and Politics, Freed Slaves, Freedmen and Free Black Settlements, Education, Slavery and the Islamic World, Varieties of Slave Experience and The Legacy of Slavery and Slavery Today. PDF download options are not available during trials. Trial ends August 12, 2015. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher’s license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
You MUST NOT
  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources