Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: E

Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Early American Imprints Series I  Evans (1639-1800)Searchable pdf’s of material published in Colonial America and the early U.S. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Songs, Economics: Liquor Traffic, History: Louisiana Purchase) [more]



Early American Imprints Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Early American Imprints Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)Searchable pdf’s of material published in the U.S. in the early 19th Century. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Satires, Peoples: Illinois Indians, Government: Church and State) [more]



Early American Newspapers. Series I, 1690-1876Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Early American Newspapers; America’s Historical Newspapers; Archive of Americana

Early American Newspapers. Series I, 1690-1876This collection provides images and full-text content access to a selection of historic newspapers based on Clarence Brigham’s authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 and additional subsequent bibliographies. [more]



Early English Books OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: EEBO

Early English Books OnlineEarly English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Access provided through a partnership of the English Department, the College of Arts and Science and the MU Libraries. [more]



EBM Reviews – ACP Journal ClubRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
EBM Reviews - ACP Journal ClubEBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club contains the complete text of ACP Journal Club (1991-date) and BMJ’s Evidence Based Medicine (1995-1999), which contain reviews of the most methodologically sound, clinically relevant articles from the top internal medicine, pediatric, ob/gyn, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and surgery journals. [more]



EBM Reviews – Cochrane Controlled Trials RegisterRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
EBM Reviews - Cochrane Controlled Trials RegisterEBM Reviews – Cochrane Controlled Trials Register contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care which have been identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE and hand researches by members of the Cochrane Collaborations. [more]



Ebsco HostRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Ebsco HostIndexes about 2600 popular magazines, with complete text available for about 1/3 of the titles. Coverage for most magazines begins with 1993. Of particular interest is the inclusion of the complete text for over 600 consumer health pamplets. Provided courtesy of MORENET. [more]



ECCO – Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineBased on the English Short Title Catalogue, nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years. [more]



ECLAS (European Commission Libraries Catalogue)Anyone can use
ECLAS (European Commission Libraries Catalogue)ECLAS is the European Commission union catalog, representing the holdings of both the Central Library of the European Commission and some 25 smaller specialized libraries and documentation centers. Provides broad coverage of European Union official publications from 1978 to date, as well as publications about the Union from other intergovernmental organizations, commercial, academic and government presses. ECLAS also indexes selected periodical articles of lasting interest. [more]



ECO: Electronic Collections OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ECO: Electronic Collections OnlineECO: Electronic Collections Online contains the original content and images from scholarly journals. Full-text (primarily archival) access is available for over 200 journals to which the MU libraries also subscribe in print format. [more]



EconLitRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
EconLitEconLit provides coverage of the worldwide literature on economics. Subject coverage includes accounting, domestic monetary theory, health economics, labor, quantitative economic methods, urban and regional economics, and welfare programs. Coverage is 1969 to date. [more]



Economics DatabasesAnyone can use
Economics Databases [more]



EDGARAnyone can use
EDGAREDGAR provides full-text copies of filings/reports for all Securities & Exchange Commission-registered companies. Included are 10-K reports (annual report filed with the SEC), 10-Qs, proxy statements or DEF 14As, and 20-Fs (annual reports of foreign companies whose stock trades in the U.S.). Coverage is 1990s to present. [more]



Education DatabasesAnyone can use
Education Databases [more]



Education Full TextRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Education Full TextEducation Full Text provides full-text for over 133 periodicals since 1994 together with indexing and abstracting of records going back to 1983 for the 478 periodicals covered in the Education Index. [more]



Education Index RetrospectiveRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Education Index RetrospectiveEducation Index Retrospective provides a record of education literature, with indexing of more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks. [more]



eHRAF World CulturesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
eHRAF World CultureseHRAF World Cultures covers cultural anthropology, ethnographies of world cultures, especially developing countries and some U.S. immigrant groups. Previous title was Human Relations Area File. [more]



Electronic EnlightenmentRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Electronic EnlightenmentElectronic Enlightenment is a digital collection of over 58,000 letters and documents from over 7000 people, both “great men” and common people, from the 17th to mid-19th centuries from Europe, the Americas, and Asia. Biographical notes, annotations, and cross-reference links facilitate research on the exchange of information in this period. [more]



eMarketerRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
eMarketereMarketer is a business information service that aggregates, filters and analyzes research pertaining to the digital marketplace. They gather both domestic and global information from more than 4,000 different trusted sources and organize it into different content such as analyst reports, charts, articles, interviews and more. [more]



Emeroteca Digitale della Biblioteca Nazionale BraidenseAnyone can use
Emeroteca Digitale della Biblioteca Nazionale Braidense [more]



Encyclopedia of MammalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Encyclopedia of MammalsCovers the behaviour, diet, distribution, and evolution of every known living mammal in the world. [more]



Encyclopedia of Research DesignRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Sage encyclopedia of research design

Encyclopedia of Research DesignAn encyclopedia of information on quantitative and qualitative research design, research methods, statistics and mathematical concepts used in research. Includes reviews of tools and articles that have had an impact on how research is conducted and results are analyzed. [more]



Energy Citations DatabaseAnyone can use
Energy Citations DatabaseEnergy Citations Database contains citations to energy and energy related technical reports, conference papers, and journal articles from U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessors ERDA and AEC. The microfiche collection is housed at the Engineering Library & Technology Commons. [more]



Engineering, Chemical DatabasesAnyone can use
Engineering, Chemical Databases [more]



Engineering, Civil DatabasesAnyone can use
Engineering, Civil Databases [more]



Engineering, Electrical & Computer DatabasesAnyone can use
Engineering, Electrical & Computer Databases [more]



Engineering, Environmental Science DatabasesAnyone can use
Engineering, Environmental Science Databases [more]



Engineering, General DatabasesAnyone can use
Engineering, General Databases [more]



Engineering, Geological & Geotechnical DatabasesAnyone can use
Engineering, Geological & Geotechnical Databases [more]



Engineering, Industrial & Manufacturing Systems DatabasesAnyone can use
Engineering, Industrial & Manufacturing Systems Databases [more]



Engineering, Mechanical & Aerospace DatabasesAnyone can use
Engineering, Mechanical & Aerospace Databases [more]



Engineering, Nuclear Science DatabasesAnyone can use
Engineering, Nuclear Science Databases [more]



English Language and Literature DatabasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: Language and Literature, English

English Language and Literature Databases [more]



Entomology DatabasesAnyone can use
Entomology Databases [more]



Entrepreneurship and Small Business DatabasesAnyone can use
Entrepreneurship and Small Business Databases [more]



Entrez Cross-Database Search Page from NCBIRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Entrez Cross-Database Search Page from NCBIEnter a search and see the number of hits in each of the 20+ databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), including Pubmed, OMIM, GenBank, and many more. [more]



Enviro-Health Links Hurricane Katrina Resource PageRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Enviro-Health Links Hurricane Katrina Resource PageLinks to information on environmental cleanup, drinking water, mold, hazardous materials and more created to assist relief workers. Created by Specialized Information Services at the National Library of Medicine . [more]



Environment CompleteRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Environment CompleteEnvironment Complete covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, environmental technology & law, urban planning and more. It includes full-text from over 920 journals and 190 monographs. [more]



Epocrates Rx FormularyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Epocrates Rx FormularyDrug reference guide for PDA with formulary information. After installation, you can add an optional formulary, NeedyMeds, to determine if patient financial assistance is available for a particular drug. Epocrates RX available free of charge, Epocrates Essentials available for individual subscription purchase. [more]



ERICRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ERICERIC provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date. [more]



esp@cenetAnyone can use
esp@cenetSearch over 50 million patents from 71 countries, dating back as far as the 1800s. Includes the European Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization as well as individual countries. [more]



eStatement StudiesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
eStatement StudiesProvides access to industry norms (ratios and default probability/cash flow measures) for 600+ industries by year, asset range and region. 735 industry codes appear in the current Financial Benchmark Ratios, and 669 are represented in the Industry Default Probabilities. [more]



ETDEWEB. World Energy BaseAnyone can use
ETDEWEB. World Energy BaseETDE World Energy Base (ETDEWEB) contains a growing collection of over 4,106,000 bibliographic records and more than 237,000 full text documents! Access to additional full text documents is provided by DOI links. [more]



Ethnographic Video OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Ethnographic Video OnlineEthnographic Video Online will provide more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, interviews with filmmakers, contemporaneous footage and photographs and more. Thematic areas include: language and culture, food and foraging, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, political organization, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles. All videos in the collection are transcribed, subject-indexed and fully searchable. [more]



ETHXWebRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ETHXWebJournal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. Can search for literature which emphasizes a legal, religious, empirical, or popular approach. Contains some links to fulltext. From the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, which formerly produced Bioethicsline. [more]



ETS TestLink Test Collection DatabaseAnyone can use
ETS TestLink Test Collection DatabaseSearch over 20,000 psychological and educational tests by either test name or by subject. From the Educational Testing Service. If the “Availability” field mentions Tests in Microfiche, the test can be used for research purposes. Copies of the instruments in Tests in Microfiche are available at Ellis Library. [more]



European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES)Anyone can use
European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES)EBSEES lists books, journal articles, reviews and theses on Eastern Europe (formerly Communist countries) published in Western Europe, including the social sciences, humanities, literature, linguistics, and art. [more]



EuroStat Data ExplorerAnyone can use
EuroStat Data ExplorerEuroStat Data Explorer provides access to statistical tables, data series and publications from Eurostat, the Statistical Office of the European Communities. [more]



Evidence UpdatesAnyone can use
Evidence UpdatesA searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]



Evidence-Based Medicine DatabasesAnyone can use
Evidence-Based Medicine Databases [more]



Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step, from the American Journal of NursingRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step, from the American Journal of NursingTwelve award winning “how-to” articles on evidence based nursing practice, first published in the American Journal of Nursing. Authored by faculty from the Arizona State University College of Nursing and Health Innovation’s Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice. CE credit is available to readers. [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: ABSEES

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) - TrialABSEES provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. It indexes books, dissertations, journals, select government publications and online resources covering anthropology, culture, economics, education and geography. Trial ends December 15, 2014. [more]



Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: henry stewart talks

Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks - TrialThis collection provides access to over 1,500 online seminar style talks containing the latest research developments as well as the fundamentals presented by leading world experts, including Nobel Laureates. Trial ends December 31, 2014. [more]



CRCnetBASE – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
CRCnetBASE - TrialCRCnetBASE includes searchable access to more than 12,000 eBook titles, covering scientific, technical, business, engineering, medical and veterinary medical references. Trial ends Oct. 23, 2014. [more]



Digital Loeb Classical Library – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Digital Loeb Classical Library - TrialThe Digital Loeb Classical Library is a searchable collection of more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek and English texts. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy and oratory and others are included. Trial ends November 14, 2014. [more]



Digital Theatre Plus – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Digital Theatre Plus - TrialDigital Theatre Plus includes filmed theatre productions of classic texts from across the UK, the Broadway Digital Archive, filmed workshops with drama techniques and exercises, interviews with production teams and study guides. Trial ends November 15, 2014. [more]



Garland Encyclopedia of World Music – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music - TrialThe Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is an online reference resource devoted to music research about all of the world’s peoples. More than 9,000 pages of text material and 300 audio recordings come from 700 contributors worldwide. It providess an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study. Trial ends Nov. 7, 2014. [more]



Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources