Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: D

Daniel Boone Regional Library CatalogAnyone can use
Daniel Boone Regional Library CatalogSearch library materials in the public libraries in Columbia, Fulton, and Ashland. Those with borrowers cards can place holds and renew material online. [more]



DARE – Database of Abstracts of Reviews of EffectivenessRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
DARE - Database of Abstracts of Reviews of EffectivenessDARE provides access to systematic research reviews of the effectiveness of health care interventions in the areas of diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening and treatment. This database is fully integrated with MEDLINE. Limit MEDLINE results to articles chosen for DARE reviews by checking the box labelled “Article Reviews (DARE)”. [more]



DART Developmental and Reproductive ToxicologyAnyone can use
DART Developmental and Reproductive ToxicologyContains over 37,000 references to literature on agents that may cause birth defects. For references prior to 1989, search ETICBACK. [more]



Dartmouth AtlasAnyone can use
Dartmouth AtlasThe Dartmouth Atlas Project is run by the Center for Evaluative Clinical Sciences at Dartmouth Medical School. It’s goal is to “accurately describe how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States.” Using information compiled by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the data covers hospitalizations of people aged 65 to 99 in the traditional Medicare system who are free to select any participating physician or hospital. Data is available from 1994-2003. [more]



DbGaP Genotype and PhenotypeAnyone can use
DbGaP Genotype and PhenotypeArchives and distributes data from genome wide association (GWA) studies. GWA studies explore the association between specific genes (genotype information) and observable traits, such as blood pressure and weight, or the presence or absence of a disease or condition (phenotype information). Connecting phenotype and genotype data provides information about the genes that may be involved in a disease process or condition, which can be critical for better understanding the disease and for developing new diagnostic methods and treatments. From NCBI. [more]



Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) – Public Technical Reports CollectionAnyone can use
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) - Public Technical Reports CollectionDTIC Online searches publicly accessible information sources. It includes report citations and many full-text reports. [more]



Department of Defense Biomedical Research DatabaseAnyone can use
Department of Defense Biomedical Research DatabaseIndexes Department of Defense funded research, testing and training programs in infectious diseases, biohazards, toxicology, medical chemical defense and related topics. [more]



dialnetAnyone can use
dialnetDialnet searches for articles, books, and theses in all subject areas. It provides access to some articles in full text. [more]



Dietary Supplements Labels DatabaseAnyone can use
Dietary Supplements Labels DatabaseThis database contains information on the ingredients of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements sold in the U.S. and is designed to help not only researchers, but the large audience of supplement consumers as well. [more]



Digital Loeb Classical Library – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Digital Loeb Classical Library - TrialThe Digital Loeb Classical Library is a searchable collection of more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek and English texts. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy and oratory and others are included. Trial ends November 14, 2014. [more]



Digital National Security ArchiveRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Digital National Security ArchiveThe Digital National Security Archive is a comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. The Archive is organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). [more]



DigiZeitschriftenAnyone can use
Also Known as: Das Deutsche Digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv

DigiZeitschriften [more]



Discovering CollectionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Discovering CollectionThousands of overview essays, critical analyses, biographies, primary sources, creative works and multimedia elements comprise the Discovering Collection comprehensive online reference resource. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



Dissertation AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Proquest Dissertations & Theses Database; Proquest Dissertations and Theses

Dissertation AbstractsDissertation Abstracts is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations form Europe and abstracts from Masters Abstracts. [more]



Distribution Maps of Plant DiseasesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Distribution Maps of Plant DiseasesThe authoritative source for accurate data on the worldwide distribution of plant diseases of economic or quarantine importance. Access to these maps is also available through the database CABDirect. [more]



DOE Information BridgeAnyone can use
DOE Information BridgeDOE Scientific and Technical Information provides free public access to full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991 forward and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees. Contains documents and citations in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics of interest related to DOE’s mission. [more]



DRUGDEX SystemAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
DRUGDEX SystemDrug information gathered and reviewed by Micromedex. Information provided includes dosing, pharmacokinetics, clinical applications and comparative drug efficacy. To search, enter the Micromedex system and click on box next to DrugDex System. Only accessible at University of Missouri Health Care facilities. [more]



DyabolaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
DyabolaDyabola is an index to classical archaeology. It is an electronic version of Archaologische Bibliographe. Coverage is 1956 to date. [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: ABSEES

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) - TrialABSEES provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. It indexes books, dissertations, journals, select government publications and online resources covering anthropology, culture, economics, education and geography. Trial ends December 15, 2014. [more]



Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: henry stewart talks

Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks - TrialThis collection provides access to over 1,500 online seminar style talks containing the latest research developments as well as the fundamentals presented by leading world experts, including Nobel Laureates. Trial ends December 31, 2014. [more]



Digital Loeb Classical Library – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Digital Loeb Classical Library - TrialThe Digital Loeb Classical Library is a searchable collection of more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek and English texts. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy and oratory and others are included. Trial ends November 14, 2014. [more]



Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance - TrialThe Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance includes bibliographies of secondary and primary materials related to the period of 400-1700 CE as well as several journals and an international directory of scholars. Trial ends October 17, 2014. [more]



Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



Rock’s Backpages – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: Rocks Backpages; Rocks Back Pages; Rock’s Back Pages

Rocks Backpages - TrialRock’s Backpages covers all types of popular music from the 1960s to the present. It includes over 25,000 articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) and over 400 exclusive and previously unpublished audio interviews with major music icons. Trial ends October 4, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources