Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: C

C19: The Nineteenth Century IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
C19: The Nineteenth Century IndexC19 Index provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. [more]



CABDirectRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: CAB Abstracts; CABI

CABDirectCoverage includes plant and animal sciences, forestry, human health and nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, rural sociology, recreation, tourism, and leisure. Includes access to CAB Archives. [more]



CAIRSS for Music (Computer Assisted Information Retrieval Service System)Anyone can use
CAIRSS for Music (Computer Assisted  Information Retrieval Service System)Indexes research literature in music therapy, music education, music psychology and music medicine from 18 core journals, drawing selectively from articles in over 1000 other journals. From the Institute for Music Research. [more]



CAMIORestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online

CAMIOCAMIO offers art images that are rights-cleared for educational use. There are about 95,000 art images—photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture—plus audio, video and mixed media. [more]



Campbell’s Operative OrthopaedicsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Campbells Operative Orthopaedics [more]



Campbell-Walsh UrologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Campbell’s Urology

Campbell-Walsh Urology [more]



Canadian Medical Association CPG InfobaseAnyone can use
Canadian Medical Association CPG InfobaseOver 300 Clinical Practice Guidelines designed to help physicians and patients make appropriate health care decisions in specific clinical circumstances. They have been developed or reviewed with a five-year rolling date, and produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial or territorial medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel. [more]



Caribbean AbstractsAnyone can use
Caribbean AbstractsCaribbean Abstracts describes selected books and articles in the humanities and social soiences published since 1989. [more]



Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsAnyone can use
Also Known as: CGP

Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsThe Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is the primary catalog for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. [more]



Catholic Periodical and Literature IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Catholic Periodical and Literature IndexIndexes articles and reviews on Catholic faith and lifestyle published in 200+ Roman Catholic periodicals. Also includes Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers. Indexed items are in German, French, Italian, Latin, Portuguese and Spanish. Indexing is about six months behind publication date of articles. Coverage in the database dates back to 1981. [more]



CCRIS- Chemical Carcinogenesis Research InformationRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CCRIS- Chemical Carcinogenesis Research InformationA scientifically evaluated and fully referenced databank developed and maintained by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). It contains carcinogenicity, tumor promotion, and utagenicity test results on over 7000 chemical compounds. To search, select CCRIS from the drop down search menu. [more]



Cell and Tissue Based Molecular PathologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology Series

Cell and Tissue Based Molecular Pathology [more]



Cell Biology, 2nd edition (Pollard)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Pollard’s Cell Biology

Cell Biology, 2nd edition   (Pollard)Recommended for PBL [more]



Cell Biology: A Short CourseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Cell Biology: A Short CourseA textbook of cell biology suitable for undergraduates. [more]



Cellular and Molecular Immunology, 7th editionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Abbas’ Immunology

Cellular and Molecular Immunology, 7th editionRequired for School of Medicine PBL Block 1. [more]



CenterWatch Clinical TrialsAnyone can use
CenterWatch Clinical TrialsAn international listing of over 80,000 active clinical trials. Search the database by therapeutic area, disease or geographic location. Also contains information on new drugs and devices approved by the FDA and the Department of Health and Human Services. [more]



CHEMIDAnyone can use
CHEMIDChemical dictionary file for over 339,000 compounds of biomedical and regulatory interest. Includes chemical property and toxicity information. File locators lead users to additional information on other files such as HSDB, RTECS, TOXNET, and TOXLINE. In addition, SUPERLIST provides names and other data used to describe chemicals on over 30 key federal and state regulatory lists. Chemical structure searching is also supported. [more]



Chemistry DatabasesAnyone can use
Chemistry Databases [more]



Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersAnyone can use
Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersChronicling America provides a directory listing American newspapers published from 1690 to the present and identifying libraries that hold these papers. Images of some newspaper pages from 1890 to 1910 are available as a prototype of the National Digital Newspaper Project, which will eventually provide digital access to significant newspapers from 1836 to 1922. [more]



Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersAnyone can use
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers [more]



CIAO – Columbia International Affairs OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs OnlineColumbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Access provided by the MU School of Law Library. [more]



CINAHL (Ebsco)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CINAHL (Ebsco)Provides comprehensive coverage of the English language journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines, from 1982 to the present. Material from over 650 journals are included in CINAHL, covering both the nursing literature and the allied health fields such as: Cardiopulmonary Technology, Emergency Services, Health Education, Med/Lab Technology, Medical Assistance, Medical Records, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Radiologic Technology, Respiratory Therapy, Social Science, Surgical Technology, and the Physician’s Assistant. Searches can be limited to research articles, nursing journals, etc. [more]



CIRRIE: Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and ExchangeAnyone can use
CIRRIE:  Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and ExchangeOver 17,000 citations to journal articles & websites for international rehabilitation research, including material not readily available to US researchers. [more]



Citation Classics from the Institute of Scientific InformationAnyone can use
Citation Classics from the Institute of Scientific InformationAuthors of highly cited papers offer personal reflections on their research: how the project was initiated, obstacles encountered, and reflections on their success. Search for a specific article/author, or browse by date. A compilation of columns which originally appeared in Current Contents from 1977-1993. [more]



Clase and PeriodicaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Clase and PeriodicaIndex of 2,600 Latin American journals published in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English language and covering sciences, social sciences and humanities. Contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues. [more]



Classics DatabasesAnyone can use
Classics Databases [more]



Clinical Dermatology: Color Guide to Diagnosis and TherapyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Clinical Dermatology: Color Guide to Diagnosis and Therapy [more]



Clinical ElectrocardiographyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Clinical Electrocardiography [more]



ClinicalKeyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: MDconsult ; md consult ; firstconsult ; first consult ; procedures consult ; clinical key

ClinicalKeyContains all the of the content formerly found in MDConsult, plus: Over 1000 additional clinical books; Instructional videos for over 300 procedures, including Lumbar puncture, central line insertion, splinting, and much more; Concise, point-of-care information (formerly known as FirstConsult) [more]



ClinicalTrials.govAnyone can use
ClinicalTrials.govA Sponsored by NIH and the National Library of Medicine, this site allows patients and health care providers to search for clinical trials by name of trial location, disease or condition, age group and treatment. [more]



Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Cochrane

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews)EBM Reviews — Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full-text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. [more]



Cochrane Methodology RegisterAnyone can use
Cochrane Methodology RegisterWith over 9000 references, the register aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies to support the work of the Cochrane review groups as they conduct systematic reviews of healthcare interventions. [more]



Color Atlas of Family MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Color Atlas of Family Medicine [more]



ComAbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: com abstracts

ComAbstractsContains abstracts of articles and books published in communication and journalism. Access provided by the MU School of Journalism. [more]



ComAnalyticsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ComAnalyticsComAnalytics provides data about the relative publication performance of individual scholars and of departments of communication (journalism, mass communication, speech, communication studies, media studies, rhetoric, etc.). Access provided by the MU School of Journalism. [more]



Communication and Mass Media CompleteRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Communication and Mass Media CompleteCommunication and Mass Media Complete is comprised of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index and indexes journals, encyclopedias and handbooks in the area of communication studies. [more]



Communication DatabasesAnyone can use
Communication Databases [more]



Company Information DatabasesAnyone can use
Company Information Databases [more]



CompendexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CompendexCompendex indexes technical and engineering journals, conference proceedings and papers, technical reports, and monographs. Subjects include all areas of engineering; transportation; management, mathematics, and physics; electronics and communications; computers and data processing, and instruments and measurements. [more]



Complete Index to World FilmCD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
Complete Index to World FilmThis catalog of over 300,000 films produced worldwide from 1890-2001 provides credits, production information, and references to reviews. [more]



CompludocAnyone can use
CompludocProduced by the University Complutense Madrid, this database searches over 4000 journals in all subject areas. [more]



Comprehensive GynecologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Comprehensive Gynecology [more]



Computer Science DatabasesAnyone can use
Computer Science Databases [more]



ComUpdateRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ComUpdateComUpdate summarizes all newly published articles in your area of focus. Select up to two classifications terms and the set the time range to see a summary of newly added records matching your terms. Access provided by the MU School of Journalism. [more]



ComVistaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ComVistaComVista is a guide to programs of study in communication-related departments in North American higher education. Access provided by the MU School of Journalism. [more]



Conn’s Current TherapyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Conns Current Therapy [more]



Consultant: A Diagnostic Support System for Veterinary MedicineAnyone can use
Consultant: A Diagnostic Support System for Veterinary MedicineProduced by Cornell University, College of Veterinary Medicine. Search by signs or disease. Provides brief synopses of diseases including general description; verterinary species affected; associated signs and symptoms. Includes references to articles and web sites on the clinical aspects of the disease. [more]



Consumer Health CompleteRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Consumer Health CompleteConsumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. It includes the Clinical Reference System (including McKesson’s Health Advisor series), and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



Consumer Health DatabasesAnyone can use
Consumer Health Databases [more]



CQ AlmanacRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CQ Almanac [more]



CQ ResearcherRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CQ ResearcherCQ Researcher is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s. [more]



CQ WeeklyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CQ WeeklyCQ Weekly provides the CQ Weekly Congressional Quarterly’s magazine on government, commerce and politics. Complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress, including status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. [more]



CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsCRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a major source of chemical and physical property data. It includes information on elements, inorganic compounds, organic compounds, physical constants, units and conversion factors, symbols, and nomenclature. [more]



CSA Mechanical and Transportation Engineering AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CSA Mechanical and Transportation Engineering AbstractsCovers industrial materials handling machinery; Mechanical engineering for industrial and manufacturing processes; Industrial robots and automation; Mathematics and computation; Management, marketing, and education. [more]



CSH ProtocolsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CSH ProtocolsA searchable, interactive collection of over 700 laboratory protocols, methods, and kits outlining new and classic research techniques in molecular and cellular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. New submissions are welcomed. From the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories. [more]



Cummings Otolaryngology–Head & Neck SurgeryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Otolaryngology–Head & Neck Surgery; Head & Neck Surgery

Cummings Otolaryngology--Head & Neck Surgery [more]



Current Bibliography in the History of TechnologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Current Bibliography in the History of TechnologyPublished as a Supplement volume to Technology and Culture. [more]



Current Clinical MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Cleveland Clinic: Current Clinical Medicine

Current Clinical Medicine [more]



Current Diagnosis & Treatment Emergency MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Current Emergency Diagnosis and Treatment; Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Emergency Medicine

Current Diagnosis & Treatment Emergency Medicine [more]



Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Family MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Family Medicine [more]



Current Diagnosis & Treatment Obstetrics & GynecologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Current OB & GYN Diagnosis & Treatment

Current Diagnosis & Treatment Obstetrics & GynecologyA wide range of topics, progressing from the basics of health care for women to complicated sub-specialty problems. [more]



Current Digest of the Soviet/Post-Soviet PressCD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
Current Digest of the Soviet/Post-Soviet PressCurrent Digest of the Soviet/Post-Soviet Press contains the full-text of an English-language compilation of articles that appeared in important Soviet newspapers such as Pravda and Isvestia. Original, Russian-language articles are not contained in this CD-ROM. [more]



Current Index to StatisticsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Current Index to StatisticsCurrent Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. [more]



Current Research@MURestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Dissertations@MU

Current Research@MUCurrent Research@MU indexes MU dissertations from 1899 to present. Provides full-text of MU dissertations from 1995 to present. Print copies of pre-1995 MU dissertations are held at the UM Depository and can be requested using MERLIN. [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

Engineering Case Studies Online – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Engineering Case Studies Online - TrialEngineering Case Studies Online offers hundreds of hours of video and thousands of pages of text resources providing analysis of key engineering failures. It includes feature-length video documentaries, simulations, case details, primary footage of accidents, audio footage and transcripts, testimonies, accident reports and more. Trial ends August 6, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources