Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: B

Bancroft’s Theory and Practice of Histological TechniquesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Theory and Practice of Histological Techniques

Bancrofts Theory and Practice of Histological Techniques [more]



Basic and Clinical ImmunologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical Immunology

Basic and Clinical Immunology [more]



Basic and Clinical PharmacologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Basic and Clinical PharmacologyRecommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1 & 2. [more]



Basic Immunology: Functions and Disorders of the Immune SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Functions and Disorders of the Immune System

Basic Immunology: Functions and Disorders of the Immune System [more]



Basics of AnesthesiaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Anesthesia

Basics of Anesthesia [more]



BDSL Online: Die Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und LiteraturwissenschaftAnyone can use
BDSL Online: Die Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und LiteraturwissenschaftThe most comprehensive listing of books and articles about German language and literture, 1985-1995. [more]



Before we are Born: Essentials of Embryology and Birth DefectsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Before we are Born: Essentials of Embryology and Birth Defects [more]



Behavioral Medicine : A Guide for Clinical PracticeRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Behavioral Medicine : A Guide for Clinical Practice [more]



BELIT – Bioethics Literature DatabaseAnyone can use
BELIT - Bioethics Literature DatabaseSearch over 300,000 English, German, and French journal articles, books, and more on bioethics. Developed by the German Reference Centre for Ethics in the Life Sciences (DRZE, Bonn) and operated in co-operation with the Information and Documentation Centre for Ethics in Medicine (IDEM, Goettingen), the Interdepartmental Centre for Ethics in the Sciences and Humanities (IZEW, Tuebingen), the Library and Information Services of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics (KIE, Washington, DC) and the Centre de documentation en ethique des sciences de la vie et de la sante, INSERM/CCNE (CDEI, Paris). [more]



Berne & Levy’s PhysiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: berne’s physiology

Berne & Levys Physiology [more]



Bible in EnglishRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Bible in EnglishBible in English is a collection of 20 different versions of the English Bible from the tenth to the twentieth century, including 12 full Bibles, 5 New Testament texts, 2 versions of the Gospels only, and translations by William Tyndale of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament. [more]



Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach -und LiteraturwissenschaftCD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach -und LiteraturwissenschaftKöttelwesh, as this database is known, indexes the secondary literature, periodicals, monographs, and collections, in the areas of German language and literature studies. This database is only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]



Bibliography of Asian StudiesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Bibliography of Asian StudiesBibliography of Asian Studies is an index to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. [more]



Bibliography of the History of ArtRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: BHA

Bibliography of the History of ArtBibliography of the History of Art covers the current literature of European art from the 4th century to the present, and of North and South American art from the European discovery of the Americas to the present. Free access provided by The Getty. [more]



Biblioteca Virtual de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el CaribeAnyone can use
Biblioteca Virtual de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el CaribeThe Latin American and Caribbean social science virtual library provides access to over 7000 full text documents, a databases of publications and research projects, a directory of researchers, and a collection of multimedia resources–video, audio, and images. [more]



Big Picture : Gross AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Gross Anatomy: The Big Picture

Big Picture : Gross Anatomy [more]



Big Picture : Medical BiochemistryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Big Picture : Medical Biochemistry [more]



Biobar toolbarAnyone can use
Biobar toolbarBrowse and locate biological information in over 30 databanks from the European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI), the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), and the DNA Databank of Japan (DDBJ). Install the toolbar to search Genomic, Proteomic, Functional, Literature, Taxonomic, Structural, Plant and Animal-specific databases, then link to nucleotide, protein, and 3D structure information. Internet Explorer users note: Biobar is available only for Firefox and Netscape/Mozilla browsers. [more]



Biochemistry DatabasesAnyone can use
Biochemistry Databases [more]



Biochemistry DemystifiedRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Biochemistry Demystified [more]



Biochemistry for DummiesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Biochemistry for DummiesAre you baffled by biochemistry? You’re not the first, and you won’t be the last. Here’s the good news — you don’t have to stay baffled! Biochemistry For Dummies shows you the fun and easy way to get a handle on biochemistry, apply the science, raise your grades, and prepare yourself to ace any standardized test. From water chemistry to protein synthesis Biochemistry For Dummies gives you the vital information, clear explanations, and important insights you need to increase your understanding and improve your performance on any biochemistry test. [more]



Biological Abstracts Archive 1980-2013Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Biological Abstracts Archive 1980-2013Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Coverage is 1980-2013. [more]



Biological Abstracts Archive/Zoological Record CombinedRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Biological Abstracts Archive/Zoological Record CombinedBiological Abstracts Archive indexes and abstracts journal literature in the life sciences from 1980-2013. Zoological Record indexes and abstracts zoological literature including journals, conference proceedings and books. See the entries for each individual database for more information. [more]



Biology DatabasesAnyone can use
Biology Databases [more]



BioOneRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
BioOneprovides full-text access to over 80 bioscience journals published by small societies and noncommercial publishers. [more]



BioOne Abstracts and IndexesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: BAID

BioOne Abstracts and IndexesBioOne Abstracts and Indexes is an indexed and fully searchable collection of abstracts that link to the full-text articles available from the BioOne organization. [more]



Birds of North AmericaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Birds of North AmericaBirds of North America is a comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. Includes audio, video and extensive references. [more]



Black Studies DatabasesAnyone can use
Black Studies Databases [more]



BMC ProceedingsAnyone can use
BMC ProceedingsDevoted specifically to conference publications in medicine and biology, BioMed Central aims to provide open access to both abstracts and complete articles presented at conferences. [more]



Book Collection: Nonfiction – Elementary EditionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Book Collection: Nonfiction - Elementary EditionBook Collection Nonfiction: Elementary School Edition contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 1,290 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on animals, weather, holidays, Native Americans, United States, Canada, biographies, civics and more. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



Book Collection: Nonfiction – High School EditionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Book Collection: Nonfiction - High School EditionBook Collection Nonfiction: High School Edition contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 2,440 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, ethnicity, disabilities, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics and more. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



Book Collection: Nonfiction – Middle School EditionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Book Collection: Nonfiction - Middle School EditionBook Collection Nonfiction: Middle School Edition contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 3,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, ethnicity, disabilities, technology, biographies, history, science, women, civics and more. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



Boron & Boulpaep’s Medical PhysiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Boron & Boulpaep’s Medical Physiology Boron & Boulpaep

Boron & Boulpaeps Medical Physiology [more]



Bovine Necropsy ModuleAnyone can use
Bovine Necropsy ModuleFrom Cornell University: provides “step-by-step video demonstrating the bovine field necropsy, diagnostic sample collection, packaging, and shipping procedures. The visual reference contains images and text descriptions of normal tissues and gross pathologic lesions. Versatile search parameters support both diagnostic and educational uses.” [more]



Bradley’s Neurology in Clinical PracticeRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Neurology in Clinical Practice

Bradleys Neurology in Clinical Practice [more]



Braunwald’s Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine

Braunwalds Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine [more]



British & Irish Archaeological BibliographyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
British & Irish Archaeological BibliographyBritish & Irish Archaeological Bibliography contains 200,000 records covering book and article publications from AD 1695 to the present day on archaeology and the historic environment. [more]



British PeriodicalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
British PeriodicalsOffers facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries. [more]



British Records on the Atlantic WorldRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
British Records on the Atlantic WorldArchival materials such as journals, correspondence, trading documents and missionary papers (1700-1900), all related to British involvement in the Atlantic region, including both Africa and the Americas. [more]



Brocklehurst’s Textbook of Geriatric Medicine and GerontologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Textbook of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology; Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology

Brocklehursts Textbook of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology [more]



Brody’s Human PharmacologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Human Pharmacology

Brodys Human Pharmacology [more]



BrowZineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
BrowZineA new application for iPad, iPhone, and Android tablets (with an Android phone app forthcoming), allows you to browse, read, and follow thousands of the libraries’ top scholarly journals in a format optimized for your mobile device. MU Libraries is involved in a one year pilot of the BrowZine app, and we welcome your feedback. [more]



BuildingGreen SuiteRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
BuildingGreen SuiteThe BuildingGreen Suite includes technical information about green building, in-depth articles on building strategies, case studies, assessment of sustainable materials and teaching resources. Access is provided by MU Campus Facilities. [more]



Business and Company Profiles ASAPRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Business and Company Profiles ASAPBusiness & Company ProFiles integrates information from Business Index ASAP and the full text of PR Newswire releases with over 200,000 combined directory listings including the Graham & Whiteside international company directories. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



Business and Company Resource CenterRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Business Insights Essentials

Business and Company Resource CenterBusiness Insights: Essentials replaces the platform for Business and Company Resource Center. It is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. [more]



Business DatabasesAnyone can use
Business Databases [more]



Business Insights: EssentialsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: BCRC; Business and Company Resource Center

Business Insights: EssentialsBusiness Insights: Essentials replaces the platform for Business and Company Resource Center. It is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. [more]



Business Source PremierRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Business Source PremierBusiness Source Premier provides full-text for nearly 3,300 scholarly business journals, including full-text for more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

Engineering Case Studies Online – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Engineering Case Studies Online - TrialEngineering Case Studies Online offers hundreds of hours of video and thousands of pages of text resources providing analysis of key engineering failures. It includes feature-length video documentaries, simulations, case details, primary footage of accidents, audio footage and transcripts, testimonies, accident reports and more. Trial ends August 6, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources