Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: A

AAMI Standards SearchAnyone can use
Also Known as: Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation Standards Search; AAMI Database

AAMI Standards SearchSearch the Association for Advancement of Medical Instrumentation database for books, reports, final and draft standards available for sale from AAMI. Also includes information about active ISO, IEC and AAMI standards projects and other technical committee news. [more]



AAPG Digital Library – American Association of Petroleum GeologistsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
AAPG Digital Library - American Association of Petroleum GeologistsThe AAPG Digital Library (American Association of Petroleum Geologists) consists of over 600,000 pages of petroleum, geology and geophysics information mainly from international, national and regional geological society publications and the AAPG. [more]



AbbreviationesCD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
AbbreviationesAbbreviationes is a searchable database of 50,000 medieval Latin paleographic abbreviations. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library in the Reference area. [more]



ABELLRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature

ABELLABELL lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctorial dissertations dealing with the study of literature and linguistic published anywhere in the world. Coverage is 1920 to date. [more]



ABI/InformRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ABI/InformABI/Inform is the primary index to over 1,000 business journals. Includes access to ABI/Inform Global, ABI/Inform Dateline and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry. [more]



ABLEDATAAnyone can use
ABLEDATAPremier source for information on assistive technology. [more]



Academic Search CompleteRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 8,600 periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. [more]



AccessMedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
AccessMedicineSearch a collection of over 50 books in clinical medicine and the basic sciences, including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Hurst’s The Heart, and many more. Click on My AccessMedicine to register for a free password which entitles you to use the Lange self-assessment tool for board preparation, PDA chapter downloads, and podcasts. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. Please logout when finished searching. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, enter the PMID article Identifier here. [more]



Accounting DatabasesAnyone can use
Accounting Databases [more]



ACLS Humanities E-Book – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: HEB

ACLS Humanities E-Book - TrialThe HEB is an online, fully searchable collection of approximately 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities. Titles include monographs, critical studies, primary sources, reference works and volumes of essays. Trial ends April 30, 2014. [more]



ACM Digital LibraryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ACM Digital LibraryACM Digital Library provides bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947. Also provides selected works published by affiliated organizations. [more]



AdAge DatacenterRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Advertising Age

AdAge DatacenterTo access the Datacenter, click the link on the right side of the Advertising Age homepage. The Datacenter includes profiles of advertisers and media companies and data on ad spending, agency rankings and markets. [more]



AdforumRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
AdforumAdForum is an internationally focused database provides access to over 35,000 advertisements in all media, including audio and video. AdForum also provides access to advertising agency information, news, and other information related to the advertising industry. [more]



Advertising RedBooks.comRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Advertising RedBooks.comAdvertising RedBooks.com provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on agencies and advertisers. Includes detailed profiles of over 14,000 US and international advertising agencies as well as information on nearly 21,000 US and international advertisers who each spend more than 0,000 annually on advertising. [more]



African Index MedicusAnyone can use
African Index MedicusFocuses on sources not indexed in MEDLINE, including books, theses, and agency reports. From the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) with the technical support of the World Health Organization [more]



Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS)Anyone can use
Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS)ADAMS indexes the regulatory and technical documents of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), its contractors and licensees. Includes full-text from November 1, 1999, with bibliographic records going back to 1981. These earlier materials are available in the NUDOCS microfiche collection housed in the Engineering Library & Technology Commons. [more]



AGRICOLARestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
AGRICOLAAGRICOLA is produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and provides access to worldwide periodical literature and USDA publications. Subject coverage includes plant and animal sciences, food and nutrition, agriculture, biotechnology, entomology, forestry, and wildlife. [more]



Agricultural Economics DatabasesAnyone can use
Agricultural Economics Databases [more]



Agriculture DatabasesAnyone can use
Agriculture Databases [more]



Agronomy DatabasesAnyone can use
Agronomy Databases [more]



AIDSinfoAnyone can use
AIDSinfoOver 700 descriptions of current and closed clinical trials for AIDS. Also includes information on AIDS treatment guidelines, drugs and vaccines. [more]



AIDSinfo Drug DatabaseAnyone can use
AIDSinfo Drug DatabaseA dictionary of over 240 chemical and biological agents. Each entry includes pharmacologic action, adverse reactions, chemical and trade names, contraindications, physical/chemical properties, and manufacturers’ names. A service of the Dept. of Health and Human Services. [more]



Air Force History IndexAnyone can use
Air Force History IndexThe United States Air Force Historical Research Agency maintains hundreds of thousands of historically significant U.S. Air Force documents representing some 70 million pages. These include unit histories, special studies, personal papers, end-of-tour reports, oral histories, interview transcripts, and more. [more]



Alliance for Audited MediaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ABC; Audit Bureau of Circulation; AAM

Alliance for Audited MediaAlliance for Audited Media (AAM) [formerly: Audit Bureau of Circulation (ABC)] provides circulation statistics for several thousand US and Canadian newspapers and periodical publications. Reports include statistics on paid and non-paid subscriptions, including digital subscriptions, home delivery and single-copy sales and are in PDF format. Yearly audit reports also include geographic breakdowns of circulation and some demographic information on readership. Search by title, periodical classification, market area, or circulation size. [more]



ALTBIB: Bibliography on the use of live vertebrates in biomedical research and testingAnyone can use
ALTBIB:  Bibliography on the use of live vertebrates in biomedical research and testingA searchable bibliography of animal testing alternatives. Citations come from journal articles indexed in National Library of Medicine Databases. [more]



AMA Manual of StyleRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: american medical association manual of style ; ama style manual

AMA Manual of StyleThis handbook provides medical writers and editors with guidance in manuscript preparation, writing style, reference formatting, and more. From the American Medical Association. Since access limited to 5 users at a time, please scroll down and click “Log Out” in the lower right when finished. [more]



America History and LifeRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
America History and LifeAmerica History and Life contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. [more]



American Chemical Society JournalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
American Chemical Society JournalsThis database indexes full-text journals from the American Chemical Society. [more]



American Civil War: Letters and DiariesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
American Civil War: Letters and DiariesAmerican Civil War: Letters and Diaries offers full-text searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched and browsed in many ways, including by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, Union or Confederate loyalty, and other variables. [more]



American FactFinderAnyone can use
American FactFinderThis site will guide to to data on your community. Choose: -”Fact Sheet” for quick access to basic demographic, social and economic data on your city, town, county or state or ZIP Code. -”People” to find more popular tables on a variety of topics (age, education, income, race and more) for your area. -”Housing” to find popular tables on home values, ownership, housing characteristics and mortgage. -”Business and Government” for data on housing starts, government finances, foreign trade and more. [more]



American Institute of Physics JournalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
American Institute of Physics JournalsAmerican Institute of Physics Journals offers full-text coverage of most AIP journals. Coverage varies according to journal. [more]



American Law Institute Library OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
American Law Institute Library OnlineThe archives of the American Law Institute (ALI) include editions of the Uniform Commercial Code, restatements of the law on a variety of topics, and special publications of the ALI including the ALI Reporter. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library. [more]



American Literature DatabasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: Literature, American

American Literature Databases [more]



American MemoryAnyone can use
American MemoryAmerican Memory provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. [more]



American Meterological Society Journals OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
American Meterological Society Journals OnlineFull-text of AMS journals. [more]



American National BiographyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ANB

American National BiographyA biographical dictionary of about 17,500 individuals significant to American history, from the earliest recorded European exploration to the 21st century. [more]



American Periodical Series OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
American Periodical Series OnlineAmerican Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. [more]



American Psychiatric Association Practice GuidelinesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: APA guidelines; APA practice guidelines

American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines [more]



American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of PsychiatryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry [more]



American State Papers, 1789-1838Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
American State Papers, 1789-1838American State Papers, 1789-1838, features not only new bibliographic records for every one of its 6,354 publications, but also superior images created by digitizing every page of every publication from the print volumes issued between 1832 and 1861. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals. Approximately two-thirds of the publications cover the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817), whereas the remaining third chronologically overlap with the Serial Set from 1817-1838. [more]



American Veterinary Medical History Society (AVMHS)Anyone can use
American Veterinary Medical History Society (AVMHS)The American Veterinary Medical History Society was formed by a group of interested veterinarians and friends to recall the past and relate it in an interesting fashion to their colleagues, and to collect and place in suitable archives a record of the “remembered” past from as many as possible. This group is made up of those interested in preserving books, photos, and artifacts of the past and present. [more]



Analytical AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Analytical AbstractsAnalytical Abstracts indexes over 200 key international journals in chemistry. It also indexes technical reports and books. Coverage is 1980 to date. [more]



Animal Health and Production CompendiumRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Animal Health and Production CompendiumAnimal Health and Production Compendium focuses on all aspects of animal health and production, including diseases, nutrition, husbandry and breeding. [more]



Animal Sciences DatabasesAnyone can use
Animal Sciences Databases [more]



Annual Reviews Online IndexAnyone can use
Annual Reviews Online IndexSearch the full-text of Annual Reviews: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell Developmental Biology, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy and the Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Genetics, Immunology, Materials Science, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nuclear and Particle Science, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physical Chemistry, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology. [more]



Anthropology DatabasesAnyone can use
Anthropology Databases [more]



AnthroSourceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
AnthroSourceAnthroSource covers current issues for 15 key American Anthropological Association publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly. Back issues of all AAA journals. [more]



AP Stylebook OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
AP Stylebook OnlineThe Associated Press style manual online. [more]



Archaeology DatabasesAnyone can use
Archaeology Databases [more]



Architecture DatabasesAnyone can use
Architecture Databases [more]



ArchiveGridRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ArchiveGridArchiveGrid is a resource for searching through nearly a million collection descriptions from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. [more]



Archives USARestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Archives USAArchives USA is a current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States. Using Archives USA, researchers can read descriptions of holdings of repositories to determine whether a collection contains material relevant to their work as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly. C19 Index contains 61,647 records detailing the collections and repositories in the United States that hold 19th century research materials. Part of C19 database. No full text. [more]



Art & Art History DatabasesAnyone can use
Art & Art History Databases [more]



Art Full TextRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Art Full TextArt Index provides citations to articles and book reviews in about 270 periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. Includes archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, film, industrial and interior design, and photography. [more]



ARTFL ProjectRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ARTFL ProjectARTFL Project is a collection of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from 13th through the 20th centuries. [more]



ArticleFirstRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ArticleFirstArticleFirst is an OCLC index of articles from approximately 16,000 journals. Subjects covered include business, social science, science, technology, humanities, medicine, and culture. Coverage is 1990 to date. [more]



ARTStorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ARTStorARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Partial funding was provided by the Student Fee Capital Improvement Committee. [more]



arXivAnyone can use
arXivIndex to over 500,000 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. [more]



ASABE Technical LibraryAnyone can use
ASABE Technical LibrarySearch all recent technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Anyone can view the abstracts. Access to the full text is via ASABE membership or site license. [more]



ASCE Civil Engineering DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ASCE CE Database

ASCE Civil Engineering DatabaseThe Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, and magazines, [more]



ASCE Research LibraryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ASCE Research LibraryThe ASCE Research Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. The Research Library provides you with unprecedented access to more than 40,000 full-text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings published since 1995. That is over 400,000 pages. Approximately 4,000 new papers will be added each year. [more]



askHERMESAnyone can use
Also Known as: ask hermes ; medQA ; med Q A ; MedQ@A

askHERMESAn experimental search engine to mine PubMed/MEDLINE, eMedicine, and the National Guideline Clearinghouse for answers to clinical questions. Type in a specific question for best results. [more]



ASM Handbooks OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ASM Materials Information

ASM Handbooks OnlineComplete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. Does NOT include full-text for the Alloy Center. 1990 edition also available in print: MU ENGINEERING REFERENCE, TA459 .A52 1990 [more]



ASME Digital LibraryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: American Society of Mechanical Engineers Digital Library

ASME Digital LibraryThe ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Digital Library, is ASME’s primary repository of current and archival literature featuring: Transaction Journals from 1990 to the present and Conference Proceedings from 2009 to the present. [more]



ASME Style GuideAnyone can use
Also Known as: MAE; Association of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering;

ASME Style GuideThe ASME Citation Style is derived from http://www.asme.org/Publications/ConfProceedings/Author/References_2.cfm Created by S. N. Godavari, Donald W. Craik Engineering Library, University of Manitoba, Canada [more]



ASME Transaction JournalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ASME Transaction JournalsASME’s Transaction Journals and Applied Mechanics Reviews from 1990 to the present. [more]



ASTM StandardsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ASTM StandardsASTM Standards is a collection of 9,100 standards for testing methods, definitions, practices and classifications, covering metals, construction, petroleum products, textiles, paints, plastics, rubber, electrical insulation and electronics, energy sources and medical devices. [more]



ATLA Religion DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ATLA Religion DatabaseATLA Religion Database contains citations from 3 print indexes published annually by ATLA (American Theological Library Association). Coverage is 1949 to date. [more]



Atmospheric Sciences DatabasesAnyone can use
Atmospheric Sciences Databases [more]



AuthoratoryAnyone can use
AuthoratoryLocate experts in various domains, or search for a particular author and view tables outlining their publications, grant funding, and more. The database was created by datamining PubMed. Registration is required to view some of the data, and is free for academic, noncommercial, and personal use. [more]



Avery IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Avery IndexAvery Index indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design and historic preservation. Coverage is from the early 1930′s to date. [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

ACLS Humanities E-Book – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: HEB

ACLS Humanities E-Book - TrialThe HEB is an online, fully searchable collection of approximately 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities. Titles include monographs, critical studies, primary sources, reference works and volumes of essays. Trial ends April 30, 2014. [more]



Communication Source – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Communication Source - TrialDeveloped from a merger of EBSCO’s Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communications Abstracts, this resource offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Content includes full-text from over 800 titles and indexing for more than 1000 titles, including academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and periodicals. Trial ends May 27, 2014. [more]



Gannett Newsstand – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Gannett Newsstand - TrialGannett Newsstand offers exclusive access to over 85 local and regional U.S. newspapers from Gannett including the Detroit Free Press, The Indianapolis Star and The Tennessean. The Gannett newspapers are available in full text and include all articles of substance written by staff writers, death notices, birth notices, editorials, reviews, letters to the editor, and selected online content. Trial ends April 25, 2014. [more]



Lecture Notes in Mathematics – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Lecture Notes in Mathematics - TrialThis series reports on new developments in all areas of mathematics and their applications. Date coverage is 2005-2014. Trial ends May 6, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources