Databases


Databases A-Z

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Databases by Subject

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases by Type


Resources by Type: Research Data

Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall icon are accessible only to MU users.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ICPSR

ICPSR offers a searchable archive of more than 500,000 files of research data in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. The data is available in formats such as SPSS, SAS, Stata and R as well as ASCII, and are ready for quantitative analysis. [more]



Roper Center for Public Opinion Research Dataset SearchRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Roper Center, iPoll, Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

This searchable archive of downloadable social science data specializes in public opinion surveys from news media, commercial polling firms, and academic sources. Time period coverage extends to the 1930s, when public polling was just starting to come into use, up to the present day. The Roper archive includes over 22,000 datasets containing responses from millions of individuals on a vast range of topics. Most of the surveys in the Roper Center were conducted on national population samples, but there are also some state and local surveys, as well as a number of surveys of special populations of interest. Emphasis is on the United States, but over 100 nations are represented. [more]



Data Citation IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Data Citation Index indexes data sets from selected repositories around the world, and also enables the user to find data sets which cite a particular work. [more]



Data Sets for Quantitative Research: Public Use DatasetsAnyone can use
Also Known as: Data Archives; Data Library; Data Services; Research Data Directory; Data and Statistical Services; Statistical Datasets; Research Data Management

There are many research organizations which make available datasets via the web, but no perfect search mechanism for sifting through the content of all these collections. The links below will take you to web portals which seem to be some of the best available. Note that these portals point to both free and pay sources for data, and to both raw data and processed statistics. Pay sources are marked with an asterisk. [more]



DbGaP Genotype and PhenotypeAnyone can use

Archives and distributes data from genome wide association (GWA) studies. GWA studies explore the association between specific genes (genotype information) and observable traits, such as blood pressure and weight, or the presence or absence of a disease or condition (phenotype information). Connecting phenotype and genotype data provides information about the genes that may be involved in a disease process or condition, which can be critical for better understanding the disease and for developing new diagnostic methods and treatments. From NCBI. [more]



iPOLLRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The iPOLL database provides access to nearly half a million public opinion survey questions on a wide range of topics. [more]



DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)

Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

.choose-db-list{ list-style-type:none;padding:0;margin:10px 0 0 0;font-family:Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;font-size:9pt;width:340px; }
.choose-db-check{ width:20px;float:left;padding-left:5px;padding-top:5px; }
.choose-db-detail{ margin-left:30px;border-left:solid 1px #E7E7E7;padding:5px 11px 7px 11px;line-height:1.4em; }
.summary { background-color:#1D5DA7;color:#FFFFFF;border:solid 1px #1D5DA7; }
.one { background-color: #FFFFFF;border:solid 1px #E7E7E7;border-top:solid 1px #FFFFFF; }
.two { background-color: #F5F5F5;border:solid 1px #E7E7E7;border-top:solid 1px #FFFFFF; }
.selected { background-color: #E0EFF7;border:solid 1px #E7E7E7;border-top:solid 1px #FFFFFF; }
#ebscohostCustomSearchBox #disciplineBlock { width:auto; }
#ebscohostCustomSearchBox .limiter { float:left;margin:0;padding:0;width:50%; }

#ebscohostsearchtext { width: 144px; }
#ebscohostsearchtext.edspub { width: 245px; }

.ebscohost-search-button.edspub {
border: 1px solid #156619;
padding: 5px 10px !important;
border-radius: 3px;
color: #fff;http://ejournals.ebsco.com/admin/login.asp
font-weight: bold;
background-color: #156619;
}

.ebscohost-title.edspub {
color: #1c7020;
font-weight: bold;
}

 

Research databases

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date
  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

 

Trial Databases

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

PolicyMap – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: Policy Map

A resource designed to synthesize data sets from various authoritative sources for the purposes of illustrating data based on demographics and the geographic location. This service will automatically create a data graphical map based on the specified data, which can include multiple data sets or “layers” on the same map. Trial ends December 31, 2018. [more]



The Literary Encyclopedia – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

The Literary Encyclopedia publishes biographies of major and minor writers; scholarly descriptions of all interesting texts written by these authors, including those often neglected; and a variety of descriptive and critical essays on literary, cultural and historical matters, which provide a finer understanding of the social contexts in which this writing was produced. Trial ends December 31, 2018. [more]



Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
  • Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources
Research databases