Databases

Databases A-Z

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Databases by Subject

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases by Type


Resources by Type: Tests, Measurements & Questionnaires

Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall icon are accessible only to MU users.

LearningExpress LibraryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Learning Express Library

LearningExpress Library contains online test preparation materials including the ACT, ASVAB, Civil Service, Cosmetology, EMS, Firefighter, GED, GMAT, GRE, Law Enforcement, Paramedic, PPST, Real Estate, SAT, United States Citizenship and more. You will need to register a username and password at the site. [more]



Mental Measurements YearbookRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Mental Measurements Yearbook series, produced since 1938 by the Buros Institute, provides critical evaluations for over 2,000 commercial tests within a wide variety of areas that include education, psychology, business, aptitude, achievement, and intelligence. [more]



Test Reviews OnlineAnyone can use

Test Reviews Online provides citations to reviews of educational and psychological tests and measurements that the Buros Institute have included in their indexes. Full-text of the actual instrument are not included. [more]



PILOTS – Published International Literature on Traumatic StressAnyone can use

Indexes world literature on traumatic stress disorder. Although it’s created/maintained by the US Department of Veterans Affairs, it covers all types of traumatic stress, not just post-combat stress syndromes. [more]



DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)

Try First: Resources for Research

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Research databases
  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date
  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

 

Trial Databases

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

African American Biographical Database – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

The African-American Biographical Database (AABD) brings together biographies, rare books, and historical information on thousands of African-Americans. Trial ends October 19, 2018. [more]



African American Periodicals 1825-1995 – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports and other genres. Trial ends October 18, 2018. [more]



American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: ABSEES

Provides information on East-Central Europe, Russia, Soviet Union and the former Soviet republics, with a large collection of indexed sources published in the United States, Canada and some European countries. Trial ends October 4, 2018. [more]



Black Studies Center – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable database, including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975. Trial ends October 19, 2018. [more]



Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher’s license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
  • Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources
Research databases