Databases


Databases A-Z

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Databases by Subject

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases by Type


Resources by Type: Handbooks and Manuals

Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall icon are accessible only to MU users.

ASCE Civil Engineering DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ASCE CE Database

The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, and magazines, [more]



CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a major source of chemical and physical property data. It includes information on elements, inorganic compounds, organic compounds, physical constants, units and conversion factors, symbols, and nomenclature. [more]



Gale Virtual Reference LibraryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]



KnovelRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Knovel is a collection of e-books and includes: ASM International Handbooks Online, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Promotional Titles, Sustainable Energy & Development and Transportation Engineering. [more]



Consumer Health CompleteRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. It includes the Clinical Reference System (including McKesson’s Health Advisor series), and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



Mergent Web Reports/Digitized Archive ManualsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Mergent WebReports/Digitized Archive Manuals: provides electronic access to all Moody’s/Mergent manuals ever published dating back to 1909. (Municipal and Govt manual currently not available.) WebReports contain more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries using an easy-to-navigate and reliable system. [more]



PTSDpubsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Formerly known as PILOTS – Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress.

Indexes world literature on traumatic stress disorder. Although it’s created/maintained by the US Department of Veterans Affairs, it covers all types of traumatic stress, not just post-combat stress syndromes. [more]



Social Trends and IndicatorsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides in-depth statistics on social issues with expert analyses. Data is drawn from Federal agencies, newspapers and stock exchanges. Individual volumes are titled: 1. Work & Leisure; 2. Community & Education; 3. Health & Illness; and 4. Crime & Justice. [more]



DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)

Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

.choose-db-list{ list-style-type:none;padding:0;margin:10px 0 0 0;font-family:Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;font-size:9pt;width:340px; }
.choose-db-check{ width:20px;float:left;padding-left:5px;padding-top:5px; }
.choose-db-detail{ margin-left:30px;border-left:solid 1px #E7E7E7;padding:5px 11px 7px 11px;line-height:1.4em; }
.summary { background-color:#1D5DA7;color:#FFFFFF;border:solid 1px #1D5DA7; }
.one { background-color: #FFFFFF;border:solid 1px #E7E7E7;border-top:solid 1px #FFFFFF; }
.two { background-color: #F5F5F5;border:solid 1px #E7E7E7;border-top:solid 1px #FFFFFF; }
.selected { background-color: #E0EFF7;border:solid 1px #E7E7E7;border-top:solid 1px #FFFFFF; }
#ebscohostCustomSearchBox #disciplineBlock { width:auto; }
#ebscohostCustomSearchBox .limiter { float:left;margin:0;padding:0;width:50%; }

#ebscohostsearchtext { width: 144px; }
#ebscohostsearchtext.edspub { width: 245px; }

.ebscohost-search-button.edspub {
border: 1px solid #156619;
padding: 5px 10px !important;
border-radius: 3px;
color: #fff;http://ejournals.ebsco.com/admin/login.asp
font-weight: bold;
background-color: #156619;
}

.ebscohost-title.edspub {
color: #1c7020;
font-weight: bold;
}

 

Research databases

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date
  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

 

Trial Databases

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

PolicyMap – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: Policy Map

A resource designed to synthesize data sets from various authoritative sources for the purposes of illustrating data based on demographics and the geographic location. This service will automatically create a data graphical map based on the specified data, which can include multiple data sets or “layers” on the same map. Trial ends December 31, 2018. [more]



The Literary Encyclopedia – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

The Literary Encyclopedia publishes biographies of major and minor writers; scholarly descriptions of all interesting texts written by these authors, including those often neglected; and a variety of descriptive and critical essays on literary, cultural and historical matters, which provide a finer understanding of the social contexts in which this writing was produced. Trial ends December 31, 2018. [more]



Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
  • Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources
Research databases